We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must eat place in AMS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, 1072 XD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,279 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Must eat place in AMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Found this place via TA reviews and must say the restaurant and service are top-notch.

We made reservations online and ate late aroun 9:30-10 on saturday night, The restaurant is located in trendy area full of nightlife and bars.. . .but the food and service were amazing.

The owner Susie Roche welcomes you as you walk in and takes your order as well. .. and biy was the food amazing. My wife had Kataifi Gambas and I had the Lamb which was amazing! We would definitely highly recommend and make reservations in advance!

Come here to eat and then walk around and have a drink in the area!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    397
    112
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dekalb, illinois
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Excellent and well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We ate at Zaza's last year and returned in April of this year because we enjoyed the restaurant. It is an easy 5 minute walk from the number 16 or 24 tram stop on a side street with several other restaurants and bars. The restaurant is not big but the tables are not crowded together so you are not annoyed by other customers. Both the food and service were excellent. When we arrived at 7.45 (19.45) the restaurant was about half full. When we left at about 10.00 all the tables were taken. Each of the three of us were very satisfied with our starters, mains and desserts. The wine list, while not very extensive, should satisfy most people. The one brief negative was the shock I got when they put a very loud version of 'happy birthday' on the speaker system and brought out a dessert with a rather large sparkler on it. Cute,but a bit over the top. All in all an excellent experience and we will return when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Such a special and fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The atmosphere was intimate and welcoming. The food looked fantastic and tasted incredible. A fab night. The location was also vibrant and there were plenty of lively bars around. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Took the plunge based on Trip Advisor recommendations and have no qualms in highly endorsing. Everything was good - service - location - wine selection - price etc. etc.
The atmosphere was also very inviting

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great service and great food! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I'd highly recommend Zaza's to tourists and locals alike! We booked 2 days in advance for a group of 10 people for a 30th birthday. They were very accommodating to fit us in, the service on the night was excellent and the food was delicious! The group menu that was offered to us was very reasonably priced and had a good variety of options.
I'd also highly recommend it for a birthday party as they went above and beyond with little extras like balloons, sparkles on the birthday girls dessert and singing happy birthday! Well worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.