We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, 1072 XD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Restaurant Zaza’s, owned by Susie Roche from Ireland, opened in May 2003 in the heart of “De Pijp”, Amsterdam’s hot spot for socialising. The menu of culinary delights with influences from France, The Mediterranean and Asia changes every 3 months! Zaza’s is that “Ab Fab” place to be for those who want to enjoy a really good evening in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere with that special touch. The theme “Absolutely Fabulous”, taken from the well know comedy series, is about enjoying life to the full. The main aim at Zaza’s is to please with attention to detail and service being of the utmost importance and to invite you to a special location where you can sample some of life’s little pleasures and treats.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We flew into Amsterdam late in the evening. We decided to go to Zaza's based on TripAdvisor reviews. The restaurant was to close in 30 minutes; however, the staff were very welcoming and ready to serve us. We were offered an amuse-bouche, which was very delicious. We ordered the pan fried scallops with rosemary risotto, cauliflower cream and dried pancetta, the pumpkin soup, and the goat cheese terrine with apple and celery served with smoked beat root and walnut dressing. For the main course, we ordered the oven roasted medallion of veal stuffed with red bell pepper, onion and fresh herbs, apple and sage tarte tatin and Irish mist jus. Each dish was an interesting mix of tantalizing flavours that complimented each other. We were so impressed with our first visit that we returned again a few days later. On our second visit, we ordered the carpaccio of cured sirloin of beef with forest mushrooms and gorgonzola cream - what a beautiful mix of flavours. For the main course, we ordered the char grilled rib eye and the breast of guinea fowl. Again, each dish was fresh and flavourful. The staff were friendly and welcoming, always ensuring that guests are looked after. The atmosphere was quaint and delightful. We cannot wait to visit Zaza's again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    387
    110
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous Darlings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The food, service and atmosphere was everything they claimed it would be on their website and did not disappoint! The staff were entertaining and welcoming, how they manage to miss each other as they rush up and down the restaurant is amazing to watch.

The food was amazing, well presented and portion sizes you would expect from a top class restaurant. We had three courses and were more than full by the end.

We sat at a table for two next to each other so could see the whole restaurant in front of us which was great as we got to see what everyone else was eating and it all looked good.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent but do not go if you are hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The food we had was excellent but portions small scallop and prawn starters consisted of 2scallops and 2 prawns table next had 2 starters to share I.e. A choice of 1 prawn or 1 scallop at a cost of 11.50 euro a 50% increase would not break the bank !service and atmosphere could not be faulted and would recommend to anyone with small appetite

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Understated & a delight!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a fab fab meal at Zaza's. A restaurant frequented by locals not tourists. The staff were incredibly helpful. Menu was small - I am a fussy eater & was tempted by most of the dishes. Settled on fish for my main which was very moist, flavoursome & exactly per the menu description. Zaza's has an understated atmosphere & was a delight!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“nice location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

we booked a table in advance because it was a saturday evening. location was easy to find, not so far from reijksmuseeum to walk to. place looks nice, modern design. staff welcomed us in a very friendly manner and we immediately felt welcome. food choice okay and quality of food excellent. wine list pretty small and therefore hard to make a choice. having said this, prices are fair.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.