We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime neighbourhood restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, 1072 XD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,542 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
London
Level Contributor
277 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
“Sublime neighbourhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A bit of a walk from the centre but oh so worth it! The restaurant is small and was full on a Friday night but the friendly staff coped admirably. The food from the freebie starter and bread with cucumber aioli onwards was really excellent with particular praise for the venison with foie gras tart. This is a great find and we only wish it was near us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    165
    36
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best food we had in amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

inventive but not pretentious. nice ambience, and a good amount of vegetarian options. we will def. look it up again if we ever make it back to amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great small restaurant with innovative cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose this from toptable online for a birthday dinner. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is in the popular de Pijp district, a short walk from the museum district where we stayed. The menu was short but creative, with interesting blends of ingredients. Venison done perfectly. The tables are quite close together and when the restaurant was full it was a little tricky for the staff to get around, but we could still have our own quiet conversation. Don't mention it's your birthday unless you want a loud blast of music!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“10/10 for effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

It was very quiet which reading other reviews seems like a bit of a rarity. We had the best of attentive service and im so pleased they dont over charge for the wine! I think thats always a good sign. The food is excelkent without being memorable. Id highly recomend it if for no other reason than the genuine interest and passion the owner showed throughout the night. Very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Taste & style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Zaza’s is a wonderful restaurant. We dined here and had a wonderful time. The atmosphere is very warm, the crowd quite decent and nice and add to the lively atmosphere of the restaurant. The food was as amazing as the restaurant’s décor. The desserts are amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.