We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small restaurant with innovative cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, 1072 XD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,249 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great small restaurant with innovative cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose this from toptable online for a birthday dinner. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is in the popular de Pijp district, a short walk from the museum district where we stayed. The menu was short but creative, with interesting blends of ingredients. Venison done perfectly. The tables are quite close together and when the restaurant was full it was a little tricky for the staff to get around, but we could still have our own quiet conversation. Don't mention it's your birthday unless you want a loud blast of music!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    387
    110
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“10/10 for effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

It was very quiet which reading other reviews seems like a bit of a rarity. We had the best of attentive service and im so pleased they dont over charge for the wine! I think thats always a good sign. The food is excelkent without being memorable. Id highly recomend it if for no other reason than the genuine interest and passion the owner showed throughout the night. Very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Taste & style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Zaza’s is a wonderful restaurant. We dined here and had a wonderful time. The atmosphere is very warm, the crowd quite decent and nice and add to the lively atmosphere of the restaurant. The food was as amazing as the restaurant’s décor. The desserts are amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Wow! Ate here last night, I cannot describe how fantastic the food was - from the starter, the amuse bouche, the main, the dessert, the wine - all heaven. And the service/ staff were all fantastic. What a hidden gem, almost don't want to tell people about it!
Cannot recommend Zaza's highly enough. Susie, thank you for a memorable night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing restaurant, a little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Zaza's is definitely one of a kind and such an absolute gem. I went to there tonight to dine with a friend and everything was first class, from the warm cosy atmosphere, buzz and music to the fantastic owner Susie who is so warm and bubbly to the exquisite food which is so beautifully presented. We had a meal that was to die for and delicious wines. It's in a lovely little area where locals hang out so quite a good find. I cannot wait to come back to Amsterdam again for Zaza's if nothing else. Cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant, thank you Susie and team for a very memorable evening! Until next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.