We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant with good atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, 1072 XD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant with good atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I decided to come here with reference to Trip advisor reviews.
Not much choice from the menu but the food is tasty and with good service. I liked the soup most but was quite disappointed to the dessert Strawberry Vanilla.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    124
    27
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice quaint atmosphere with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a very nice meal with a customer and the service and food were very good. I found the prices very reasonable and the staff was helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Amsterdam for a couple of nights on a city break with my girlfriend. Decided to reserve a table at zaza's due to trip advisor reviews and the look of the menu. We were not disappointed.

We really enjoyed our meal, the food was cooked amazingly, I had scallops to start, which were delicious. I then had the rib eye, cooked to perfection, and the fries were superb. My gf had the lamb as a main and thought it was tremendous, and the panacotta for dessert, she liked it so much she only reluctantly allowed me a small taste, it was really good.

I thought the service was also great. All in all a super dining experience and would go back again. Our meal as details above, with 2 glasses of prosecco, 2 glasses of rijoca, and a brandy come to €99, which I thought was reasonable. For a Tuesday it was busy, and appeared you would need to book in advance, there was also a large group at a table, seemed like a work group, and they were quite loud, it didn't bother us too much as added some atmosphere, however, the restaurant is quite small and if we were seated closer may have been annoying. Not the fault of zaza's though.

All in all, great, I recommend it highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice place that can improve even more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I been there one week ago, it was a monday and the restaurant was full, luckily i placed a reservation in advance. I tried other time to go and eat there but it was always fully booked and without any guest list (strange). The person with i spoken sounds a bit in rush.
They gave us a tasty amuse bouche and tasty bread, well done.
I had the Carpaccio as started and my fiancée got the soup. Both tasty but the presentation of the carpaccio was a bit messy and not easy to eat mixing all the ingredients. Then followed bymain course, lamb and fish, both well done. The ambient is really too small and noisy, and it was just a monday, when you want go to toilet be careful to the other tables cause it's really narrow. The girl that pour for me the wine dont' know how to do cause she lean the neck of the bottle to my glass edge. Small particular that makes a usual place in something outstanding. Zazas got the potential to separate itself from the rest of soulless Amsterdam restaurant, just a bit more of effort and more of customers care to be a nice reality of Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb, again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My second visit to Zaza's and was just as good as my 1st. Very very good food, excellent service and great cosy atmosphere.
Highly recommended. Excellent value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.