We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every respect.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, 1072 XD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 2,314 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really cannot recommend Zaza's highly enough.

Fantastic food is not difficult to find here, I do not profess to be a food critic but I have dined in some of the best and Zaza's is up there in a understated kind of way. All dishes on our latest visit, our first 4 years ago, were once again well prepared, cooked to perfection and presented to please (best to check Zaza's website for the current menu).

Friendly, honest and genuine service supplements the buzz that goes with a mixed full house, exactly the reason why we returned. To me that says it all. A full house, great food, service and atmosphere four years ago and the same again this time round.

PS - To all at Zaza's thank you so much for making my wife's birthday meal such a memorable one!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    117
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small friendly restaurant with fabulous food and great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited here during a weekend away, fresh off our flight and commute to the city we cycled up to De Dijp and immediately knew we'd made a good choice. The service is incredibly warm and friendly, the interior is intimate and modern, the food was absolutely first class and also incredibly good value.

It is located in a lovely area which felt like it was far removed from the tourist drag, with young 20s/30s enjoyed good food and good drinks - thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Believe the reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although small, the restaurant easily accommodated of group of 12 with a reservation. Everyone enjoyed their selection from the fixed menu. Servers were pleasant and helpful and food was prepared quickly. Desserts were fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just one word - Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Dinner at Zaza's was part of a surprise trip to Amsterdam for my boyfriend's birthday on Saturday 10th August. I had booked a 5* Leading Hotels of the World establishment for our stay and was after a restaurant that would offer personalised and friendly service, nice modern interior, just big enough to have the feeling that you dine with friends even if you did not know the people around you and of course beautiful food.
They truly made us feel special. The owner, from Ireland originally, was so welcoming and even when the restaurant was full she provided amazing service and the smile never disapeared of her face the entire evening; the girl running the floor with her was really friendly as well.
The restaurant is served by a tiny kitchen, however the chefs are at their best. The food was delicious, and the presentation reflects atention to detail and imagination.
Balloons, amuse bushes, smiles, jokes throughout the evening all finished with.....and I am not going to say what am I talking about, as I do not want to ruin the surprise at the end if you celebrate your birthday at Zaza's :)

We will certainly visit the restaurant again and again and again :) Good Job Everyone!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked a table on a Saturday evening and were glad we did. Whilst there several people came in only to be turned away. The meal got off to a good start with a delightful home made bread and dip combination. Truly some of the best we had in Amsterdam. Other highlights of the meal had to include the tuna tempura with a soy sauce dip, delicious rib eye and lamb mains with parmesan stuffed onion and sweet potato gratin and fantastic puddings. Asked for recommended desert wines with the pudding and both wines were spot on.

Restaurant is quite small and we were lucky with our table and other tables looked quite 'cosy'!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.