We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Meal - Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, Amsterdam 1072 XD, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 2,141 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Restaurant Zaza’s, owned by Susie Roche from Ireland, opened in May 2003 in the heart of “De Pijp”, Amsterdam’s hot spot for socialising. The menu of culinary delights with influences from France, The Mediterranean and Asia changes every 3 months! Zaza’s is that “Ab Fab” place to be for those who want to enjoy a really good evening in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere with that special touch. The theme “Absolutely Fabulous”, taken from the well know comedy series, is about enjoying life to the full. The main aim at Zaza’s is to please with attention to detail and service being of the utmost importance and to invite you to a special location where you can sample some of life’s little pleasures and treats.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal - Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked a table on a Saturday evening for 5 guests. We truly had a fabulous and memorable meal. The owner and staff are very welcoming and hard working. Service was efficient and friendly. We explained that we were celebrating a birthday and were in no hurry, therefore we enjoyed a really relaxed evening, plenty of drinks, divine food which was presented beautifully and tasted fantastic. Genuinely one of the best evenings spent in a restaurant that I have experienced. 100% recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    360
    93
    26
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great food. Seafood is excellent. 97€ for 2 including a bottle of wine. Amuse bouche offered. Scallops, tuna teriyaki, plaice stuffed with crabmeat and an excellent bottle of sauvblanc from chile. Just go! Great Irish welcome. You must book though. Lots turned away on weds night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My new favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I love this place!

I visited on Saturday night and had advised Susie in advance it was my boyfriend's birthday. When we arrived our table was decorated with balloons which was a lovely touch and we were given a little taster on arrival which was presented in a little gift box. The ambience was lovely and the restaurant had a really good vibe.

The food is something else, everything we had was perfect. The scallops, ravioli, lamb fillet & rib eye were all outstanding! If I'd of had my way we would have eaten there every night on the trip! And the lemon sorbet prosecco cocktails went down a treat to!

It was the perfect special place to go for a birthday and I can't wait to go back and visit next time i'm in the city!

Thank you Susie!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very special meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Some of our children booked a meal for us in Zaza's for our 40th wedding anniversary and our experience was very memorable and positive. We received the warmest of welcomes from Susie who was attentive and helpful ( and who, we later found out came from Ireland, like ourselves). They had prepared little personal touches for our anniversary - -hearts on glasses, a photo taken and printed out for us at the end of the meal etc. But of course, the main thing was the food!!! It was delicious, We shared the scallops as a starter and we both had the lamb fillet which was absolutely perfect - melt in your mouth tender! - and to finish I had the white chocolate panacotta and my husband had the Dutch dessert Yoghurt Hang Op. Both desserts were excellent. We would both highly recommend Zaza's which was intimate, personal with wonderful food.It is in a really nice area and we would go there again without a doubt the next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quite a lot better than good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked this restaurant well in advance and was not disappointed at all. The service was excellent and the food was even better. If you are going to Amsterdam for a few days go eat there the first night. You will probably want to go back. Every single dish they put in front of us was of a very high quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.