We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, 1072 XD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
dekalb, illinois
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Five of us ate at Zazas last night. The restaurant is small (30-40 seats) with an excellent serving staff of two--enough for the crowded space. The menu is not extensive but it was large enough that each of us could find a starter, main and dessert we wanted. Our mains included beef, lamb, fish and a vegetarian raviloi. All were superb. Starters and desserts were also extremely good. With drinks, wine and coffee the billl came to 240 Euros, not expensive considering the quality of the food. This is not a place for a quick meal. We arrived at 19.30 and did not leave until 22.15 but we did not feel the service was slow. The pace seemed completely appropriate. We would definitely recommend Zazas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    118
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a meal! AAA+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We decided to hit Zaza after reading on Tripadvisor. We were promptly seated notwithstanding a full room (our table was booked but another one was almost done), we were greated by the dipping sauce and a small and quick cadeau (the "wow" experience). The menu was great with not a huge choice of appetizers/main (6-7 per type), but a lot of different taste. We picked the tuna tempura (ok) and the duck breast mille feuille (great!) as appetizers and the guinea fowl and the seawolf (!) as entree closing up with a white chocolate panna cotta and everything was great.
The ambience is small but cozy, might be noisy. Service is superb with full details on any choice you might have. Wine list just ok with 2 "by the glass" wines per type (2 reds, 2 whites). Lastly but not less important: we paid less than 100 EUR, such a meal would have cost 20/30% more in Italy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Zaza's is quite a small restaurant so you definitely have to book. It has a very nice relaxed atmosphere and the staff make you feel very welcome. We went on a Saturday night when it was very busy but we still got good service even if it was a little slow. The food itself was delicious - the scallops were amazing. I would definitely go back there

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Upmarket but very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited this reataurant for our daughter in laws 30th birthday. Due to the numbers (8) we were limited to a smaller, fixed price menu rather than a la carte but it was still excellent. The staff were very friendly and the ambience relaxing. The food was very good but if I was to nitpic, a bigger menu choice would have improved what was an excellent evening anyway. It's certainly worth a visit if you're in Amsterdam.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a great time - food was absolutely fabulous! Tuna tempura was the perfect size and really fresh. The carrot soup and ravioli were awesome - try as the half-sized in between courses. They were so fresh and full of flavor. The sea wolf - my first time having it was amazing. The guinea fowl was also great with these wonderful potatoes. What really made the night was the amazing service. Judith and Susie are terrific! We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;