We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite possibly the best restaurant in the Netherlands!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, Amsterdam 1072 XD, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Restaurant Zaza’s, owned by Susie Roche from Ireland, opened in May 2003 in the heart of “De Pijp”, Amsterdam’s hot spot for socialising. The menu of culinary delights with influences from France, The Mediterranean and Asia changes every 3 months! Zaza’s is that “Ab Fab” place to be for those who want to enjoy a really good evening in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere with that special touch. The theme “Absolutely Fabulous”, taken from the well know comedy series, is about enjoying life to the full. The main aim at Zaza’s is to please with attention to detail and service being of the utmost importance and to invite you to a special location where you can sample some of life’s little pleasures and treats.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best restaurant in the Netherlands!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My boyfriend took me here as a surprise for my birthday on 1st December 2012. I couldn't have hoped to have been taken to a better place! It was phenomenal! The food was some of the best I've ever tasted. I had oysters to start and they were delicious, as fresh as they could be followed by steak. And being a massive steak fan I have to say that this was in the top three steaks I've ever eaten. It's in a fabulous location, away from the tourist traps and surrounded by some cool bars and I've recommended this restaurant to my friends who are soon to travel to Amsterdam. I'd say that this was without doubt one of the highlights of my weekend here. Thank you Susie and your staff for a beautiful and memorable evening!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    382
    110
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, very interesting food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this restaurant for my partners 30th birthday on 24th December 2012, having read some good reviews here on trip advisor.
I contacted the restaurant to advise them about the special occasion and upon arrival our table was decorated with balloons and ribbons, nice touch. The restaurant is in a lovely part of town and has a very nice feel inside. The staff were attentive and we were all served with a delicious appetiser on the house. We ordered the steak, the venison, the sea wolf and ravioli.
All were served promptly and were delicious, the only complaint was that a few more pieces of ravioli needed to be served as I only have 4 or 5 pieces, and for €17.50 this was not great, such a shame as was delicious! Appart from this the meal was excellent.
We all had deserts and my partners came with a rather impressive firework on it for her birthday that was a nice surprise, accompanied by 'happy Birthday to you' in Dutch playing through the speakers. Also the waiter took a picture of this and presented us with a photograph free of charge within minutes, this was a really nice touch.

The deserts were exquisite and delicious, and I especially enjoyed the Baileys cheese cake.

Overall our experience was excellent and I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion it was top class.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Berkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

As a lead member of a work party of 20 people on our Xmas meal I was nervous about the restaurants ability to cater for such a large number. Within our group we had some fine dining gourmet experts to burger and chips merchants, well they managed to cater for all of our tastes and exceeded everyone's expectations with both the quality and presentation of the food and everyone left happy and their belles full.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Uk
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had a gorgeous meal here with friends. We pre-booked a month before we came as it is always busy. We had an excellent meal and the staff were lovely to. Highly enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Best restaurant of Amsterdam for sure!! I don't understand why they are placed 4th right now. Zaza's should stay at 1st place!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.