We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best (cost effective) sushi in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umeno

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Umeno
Agamemnonstraat 27, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #740 of 2,551 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best (cost effective) sushi in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I've travelled the world... and eaten lots of sushi - whether Japan, Vancouver, London, etc...

Umeno is quite authentic, the sushi chef is extremely precise / well trained, and the food is well priced for Amsterdam. It's not the Okura, but I've yet to have a bad meal here, and it's at least half the price.

Overall ambience is ok, and service can be slow at times (only sushi chef and his wife?), but if you're in the area... well worth the visit.

I've eaten here three times and have yet to have a bad meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My new fave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything tasted excellent! The rice on that sushi is just right. The tempura doesn't come with excessive flours that normally trapped a lot of oil inside. The shabu-shabu did took a long time to be served, but that was because they are making the soup properly.
The only down side for me would be the size of the meal, which I would except slightly more, considering the price per item.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The best toro in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Hide away in Amsterdam, but definitely one of the best sushi places in town. The sashimi is perfect with the best toro you can imagine. Also the main dishes are great. Combined with some good sake this was a lovely dinner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Taste the real thing in this small restaurant. Every ingredient is fresh and just right. Ambiance is somewhat basic but it makes you focus on the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“whoaw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ive already been to japan and experienced the best low key restaurants out there.. i can tell you that this one is straightforward in my overall top 3 places ive ever been to, and im not so prone to compliments! The restaurant is run by an authentic chef from Japan and i could only advise you to experience the udon salad followed by Chicken teriyaki, the only downside being that it does only open at night..Well worth the deviation and cant wait to come back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umeno also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Umeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umeno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.