We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavorsome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Portare Via

Da Portare Via
Frans Halsstraat 63, 1072BM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)
31202355555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #735 of 3,031 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: Our wood-fired ovens look nice but are certainly not for decoration. We make pizzas such as the Roman pizza should to be. The thin soil and the intense heat from the fire leave any taste in the recipe full justice to.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
242 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Flavorsome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I sat down at this restaurant while we were visiting Amsterdam. The pizza was very good. The ingredients were flavorsome. Beers were cold. Service was fine. We would definitely return the next time we're in Amsterdam. Definitely no complaints here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeycee0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Honest and authentic pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This review is of the Frans Halsstraat outlet. Da Portare Via have 3 other outlets throughout Amsterdam.

We were recommended this place by the bar tender in the cafe bar opposite. Located in a really pretty nice quiet back street near Albert Cuyp, this outlet has indoor seating which at time of visit, we're packed with locals.

There's a really good selection of pizzas. There's no gimmicks here - just honest, cooked to order, wood fired pizzas made with authentic and fresh ingredients. At E12.50 for a large pizza and no skimping on ingredients, it's good value and very tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The pizza here is fantastic! Simple toppings cooked on a perfect, woodfired base. It's a hole in the wall type place, so don't expect somewhere to sit down. When I visited most of the customers were locals, and some were wisely taking their pizzas to enjoy at the bar next door. I will definitely eat here again when I next travel to Amsterdam!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“OH MY GOD - orgasmic pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were really hungry and went to La Perla which is supposed to be good and passed this place. La Perla was closed so we came here. There was a lady alone doing the pizzas one by one. We ordered a Margherita and one with Parma Ham, Arugula and Ricotta...It was SO SO SO SO good. You just eat on the bar as there is no place to sit down its like a passing by pizzeria. But SOOOO goodd!!!!!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Wood Fired Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was the closest pizza place to our hotel and gave it a try for a quick lunch. We are so so glad we did.They have fantastic,expertly prepared gourmet pizza. We opted to take it back to the hotel to eat as there is only limited counter space. I forget the exact pizza we ordered but it had truffles in it. It was truly outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedfishDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Portare Via also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Da Portare Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing