We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mashua

Mashua
Prinsengracht 703, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 2,322 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We absolutely loved this Peruvian/fusion restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam. The portions are very hearty so unless you have a big appetite think about two starters rather than a starter and a main. I loved the spicy pumpkin soup and my husband was ecstatic about his tuna and sweet potato. His duck main course was outstanding; my second starter of beef was less exciting but still very good. Great cocktails and warm, friendly service from a charming Italian waitress. The bill, with a shared dessert and a glass of wine plus a cocktail, was €86 without service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“So good I went twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Beautifully prepared food, very little for vegetarians but the pumpkin soup was an absolute delight.
The neighbours at the next table were enthusing about the burgers and salads. My friend who is an expert pudding eater was in raptures over the citron tart/lemon meringue.
The waiter was so lovely and attentive too.
Overall a little pricey but quality was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant - service could be more attentive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The restaurant is located nicely on Prinsengracht and has a nice interior/atmosphere.
The menu offers mainly fish dishes with some meat as well but is lacking vegetarian dishes. The dishes are quit unique and off the standards and tasty.
Only point of criticism is that considering that the place was half full the service was a little inattentive.
Price wise we paid 50€/p for starter, main, shared dessert and a glass of wine - not cheap but still in the range for Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Mashua is a restaurant where you can go with different groups of people. Having a night out with your friends, or even a dinner for work.
The food is excellent and we always enjoy the pisco sour cocktail. Service is very good and the atmosphere is very relaxing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Heard about it and gave it a try. Super tasty, well-presented fusion cuisine with a peruvian base. We had seafood and beef (lomo saltado) and both were very good. Service was good and even a little misunderstanding with one of our orders was swiftly corrected. Try the pisco sour!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashua also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mashua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.