We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mashua

Mashua
Prinsengracht 703, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
31204200559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 2,585 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We absolutely loved this Peruvian/fusion restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam. The portions are very hearty so unless you have a big appetite think about two starters rather than a starter and a main. I loved the spicy pumpkin soup and my husband was ecstatic about his tuna and sweet potato. His duck main course was outstanding; my second starter of beef was less exciting but still very good. Great cocktails and warm, friendly service from a charming Italian waitress. The bill, with a shared dessert and a glass of wine plus a cocktail, was €86 without service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    47
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So good I went twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Beautifully prepared food, very little for vegetarians but the pumpkin soup was an absolute delight.
The neighbours at the next table were enthusing about the burgers and salads. My friend who is an expert pudding eater was in raptures over the citron tart/lemon meringue.
The waiter was so lovely and attentive too.
Overall a little pricey but quality was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Peaks, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant - service could be more attentive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The restaurant is located nicely on Prinsengracht and has a nice interior/atmosphere.
The menu offers mainly fish dishes with some meat as well but is lacking vegetarian dishes. The dishes are quit unique and off the standards and tasty.
Only point of criticism is that considering that the place was half full the service was a little inattentive.
Price wise we paid 50€/p for starter, main, shared dessert and a glass of wine - not cheap but still in the range for Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Mashua is a restaurant where you can go with different groups of people. Having a night out with your friends, or even a dinner for work.
The food is excellent and we always enjoy the pisco sour cocktail. Service is very good and the atmosphere is very relaxing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Heard about it and gave it a try. Super tasty, well-presented fusion cuisine with a peruvian base. We had seafood and beef (lomo saltado) and both were very good. Service was good and even a little misunderstanding with one of our orders was swiftly corrected. Try the pisco sour!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashua also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mashua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.