We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mashua

Mashua
Prinsengracht 703, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
31204200559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 2,589 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Kudelstaart, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fusion Peruvian food, i love it! The piqueo is very nice so you can taste a variety of starters. My favorite is 'causa'. Take pisco sour for drink.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    47
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had lunch here, will not go back for lunch.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Not all that impressed. Food did not taste soo nice, looks good and very nice place, but he food was dissapointing. It was not like the photoes posted here which are probably dinners. Also found the service a bit slow.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
275 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
“Charming but brutal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Nice staff, good location, interesting food but, at the end of it, a peculiarly brutal dining experience - the portions were way, way too large, especially the ceviche, the ingredients were coarse (for example the beef ribs) and the presentation was uncompromisingly unattractive. It was how my Irish Granny cooked - it was not bad food but she was not about to help you enjoy it. Having said that, some of the flavours and combinations were delicious and exciting. Clearly, in the hands of a modern day Escoffier Peruvian cuisine could be among the best in the world. Mashua hinted at this but needs to go through several refinements if it is to earn any laurels.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and business traveler friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent sesame raw tuna appetizer and I would highly recommend it. The bar seating is good for solo travelers and bartender was attentive. I would go there again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food,friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stopped here for a drink on a lovely sunny afternoon and decided to book a table for dinner on the evening. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We were a table of 6 and all had different meals which we all enjoyed. Very nice combination of flavours in the dishes. Good if you fancy something a little more exciting than the usual fare. Will return if we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashua also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mashua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.