We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but brutal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mashua

Mashua
Prinsengracht 703, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
London
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
587 helpful votes 587 helpful votes
“Charming but brutal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Nice staff, good location, interesting food but, at the end of it, a peculiarly brutal dining experience - the portions were way, way too large, especially the ceviche, the ingredients were coarse (for example the beef ribs) and the presentation was uncompromisingly unattractive. It was how my Irish Granny cooked - it was not bad food but she was not about to help you enjoy it. Having said that, some of the flavours and combinations were delicious and exciting. Clearly, in the hands of a modern day Escoffier Peruvian cuisine could be among the best in the world. Mashua hinted at this but needs to go through several refinements if it is to earn any laurels.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and business traveler friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent sesame raw tuna appetizer and I would highly recommend it. The bar seating is good for solo travelers and bartender was attentive. I would go there again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food,friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stopped here for a drink on a lovely sunny afternoon and decided to book a table for dinner on the evening. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We were a table of 6 and all had different meals which we all enjoyed. Very nice combination of flavours in the dishes. Good if you fancy something a little more exciting than the usual fare. Will return if we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food. Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Popped in for lunch. Not much to say. Menu not extensive. But I had the New York style strip steak sandwich. And it was great. Waiters friendly. Good value. Will come again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Canal Front Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stopped in for lunch and glad we did. Service was bad, but it was a beautiful sunny day in late October in Amsterdam so everyone was out, the restaurant was very busy. Turns out when you are chillin on the canal time flies and the food was well worth the wait. The steak sandwich was tender and filled with flavor as was the mozzarella sandwich- a nice twist on a caprese. We will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashua also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mashua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.