We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but brutal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mashua

Mashua
Prinsengracht 703, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
31204200559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #359 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London
Level Contributor
275 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Charming but brutal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Nice staff, good location, interesting food but, at the end of it, a peculiarly brutal dining experience - the portions were way, way too large, especially the ceviche, the ingredients were coarse (for example the beef ribs) and the presentation was uncompromisingly unattractive. It was how my Irish Granny cooked - it was not bad food but she was not about to help you enjoy it. Having said that, some of the flavours and combinations were delicious and exciting. Clearly, in the hands of a modern day Escoffier Peruvian cuisine could be among the best in the world. Mashua hinted at this but needs to go through several refinements if it is to earn any laurels.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and business traveler friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent sesame raw tuna appetizer and I would highly recommend it. The bar seating is good for solo travelers and bartender was attentive. I would go there again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food,friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stopped here for a drink on a lovely sunny afternoon and decided to book a table for dinner on the evening. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We were a table of 6 and all had different meals which we all enjoyed. Very nice combination of flavours in the dishes. Good if you fancy something a little more exciting than the usual fare. Will return if we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food. Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch. Not much to say. Menu not extensive. But I had the New York style strip steak sandwich. And it was great. Waiters friendly. Good value. Will come again

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Canal Front Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stopped in for lunch and glad we did. Service was bad, but it was a beautiful sunny day in late October in Amsterdam so everyone was out, the restaurant was very busy. Turns out when you are chillin on the canal time flies and the food was well worth the wait. The steak sandwich was tender and filled with flavor as was the mozzarella sandwich- a nice twist on a caprese. We will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tarynpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashua also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mashua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing