We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal on trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mashua

Mashua
Prinsengracht 703, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best meal on trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just found it when walking by, the smells coming from the place were wonderful we had to go in. We had the mixed starter for two, which samples various dishes, and both our mains were delicious. Prices were good, and service was friendly, definitely give this one a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    34
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, or
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cafe Peru- AMAZING ceviche!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We ate down the street at Cafe Peru, my son picked it out ("it looked good and it smelled really good") and had a fantastic surprise with the best meal of the Netherlands trip! The ceviche was wonderful, fresh, best I ever had. Also ordered the lamb over frites with rice and the chocolate cake. Really, really good. Great, non-touristy place off the beaten path.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant with an excellent cuisine!! Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Great food!!
You shouldn't miss it. Correct prices. The service is good but the best is the food. Fusion based on the peruan cuisine. Very flavoured, tasty!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A gem - Peruvian fusion with a health conscious spin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had initially planned to go to Mamouche, but last minute they cancelled our reservations. After a little research, we ended up at Mashua - and can I just say that I am so glad it turned out this way. What a great find! The restaurant itself is quite pretty and romantic, but trendy. Staff were very accommodating and friendly, having spent quite a bit of time chatting with us about a NYC branch of the restaurant (yay! can't wait to try it out). The food was awesome and very innovative. Portions were definitely overly generous. My mom had a quinoa risotto. I have to say that I would be a happy person if I could eat that once a week. It was incredibly creamy and tasty. really executed well. I had the short ribs with spinach. The short ribs were awesome - knife not required. The short ribs were high quality, tons of meat, not much fat and just pulled off the bone and melted in your mouth. The spinach....oh my gosh - I had no idea spinach could taste so amazing. It tasted like it had been smoked or grilled. I don't know it they used liquid smoke or what they did, but keep doing what you are doing because that was awesome. For dessert we shared a lemon tart - perfect ending to a meal. I can't wait to try their sister restaurant in NY.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great evening out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wonderful service. Staff accommodated an issue with an item used on the fixed menu and came up with a wonderful quinoa risoto that was a delight. The two deserts we were served were lovely. Haven't had pisco sour in years, but was great! Definitely enjoyed our night out..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashua also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mashua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mashua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.