We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent very tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Max Euweplein 57-61, 1017 MA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
20 5237625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #587 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: The Hard Rock Cafe and Amsterdam – they go so well together. Both are chilled, interesting places to meet and enjoy life. This Hard Rock Cafe shares a square with the Holland Casino and is a short skip from live-music venue Paradiso (who supplies the HRC with live music) and the City Theater. The three glass-fronted levels have lovely views over the Singelgracht ,so you can watch Amsterdam’s fleet of canal boats pass by your window as you enjoy the classic American diner cooking and the welcoming atmosphere. This is the usual, comforting Hard Rock interior: dark wood wainscotting, checkered tablecloths, and walls plastered with rock-god memorabilia from the likes of Eddie Van Halen, Jerry Garcia, Jimi Hendrix, Lenny Kravitz and Pink Floyd. For groups, the possibilities are practically endless: seat 20 in the canalside bar, 50 in the Legends Room, 80 on the Hard Rock Terrace, 90 in the Main Dining Room or 160 throughout the entire venue. The menu includes classic and brilliant nachos, burgers, an unforgettable pulled pork sandwich, serious entrees like steaks and barbecue and child-pleasing desserts like hot fudge brownie sundae. The drinks are big and more-ish. Don’t forget to buy the t-shirt to mark your day
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ate here it is pretty pricey but very tasty and worth while to go.
Drinks was pricey as well.
Nachos are really good

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    453
    231
    88
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“It does what is says on the tin (or badge)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been to Hard Rocks all over the place and the formula works, the kids love it and you know what you will get in terms of food, atmosphere and format.

The Amsterdam HR has the benefit of a decent view of the canal and being in a central tourist location, we have been to a couple of HR's that feel a bit dungeon like with no windows and so are a bit dingy - Amsterdam is far nicer and brighter.

However if in doubt BOOK A TABLE as this is a popular place to go so do not be surprised if you are told politely that it could be 2 hours wait for a table on a busy evening. If you are lucky and it is only half an hour then they give you a pager and buzz you when ready.

no need to talk about the food as it is as good as all HR's and the menu is standard the world over.

Good for families with kids who like to collect badges and t shirts to remember advntures

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pushy Staff but Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ok, so first of all I reckon the waitress would have sold us her Granny if we had asked her to!!
She was quite pushy and gave a big speil about cocktails and to visit the merchandise shop next door and to buy a charity wristband that was on the table. What seemed like an hour after she started talking, we were able to order food!
I got a pulled pork type burger and it was delicious! Also, we had a canalside view which was very nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“Good food with great service :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were seated straight away, with a nice table overlooking the canal. The waitress was very friendly and polite and took our order very quickly.
The wait or food wasn't too long, it arrived hot and was very nice.
The prices aren't cheap, but the food is of a good quality and the location is great.

Would visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good food, can get very busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to hars rock cafe, had to wait an hour for a table as it was a saturday night and really busy. This was ok thou as we were given a pager that beeped when our table was ready and we just sat and drank at the bar while we waited. Once seated the service was good and the food was lovely. Texan pulled pork was delicious and so was the cheesecake for desert

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.