We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As all hotels should be ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Palatijn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel de Palatijn to your Saves list
Hotel de Palatijn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“As all hotels should be ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have just returned home to the UK after spending a week at the Palatijn on a Makin' Tracks holiday for wheelchair users. As soon as I found out which Hotel we were staying at I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and the Hotel website which left me a bit apprehensive and somewhat confused. Reading on the Hotel's web site that it was a "Care Hotel" for rehabilitation after operations left me concerned I was going to a nursing home but confused that this did not fit with the Trip Advisor reviews. Immediately I arrived I was relieved to find it was a hotel, not a nursing home but one that was accessible to all, as all hotels should be but few are. In fact better than many as it had an air of peacefulness about it that I really liked. The let down seat in the lift was a lovely addition. I would endorse earlier comments about the friendliness of the staff. Whoever is recruiting staff is doing a good job. Having only stayed in one other Dutch hotel (24 years ago) I thought both the breakfasts and evening meals were excellent (although don't be late, kitchen closes at 9.30 pm). I particularly enjoyed the uncut bread at breakfast. Breakfast is a help yourself buffet, but staff were only too pleased to help you. The endless jugs of tea and coffee were much appreciated. The 3 course fixed price dinner for €26.50 we thought was excellent quality and value, with many things that were not on a standard menu, beautifully presented. Drinks we thought were towards the lower end of hotel prices (glass of wine €3.50). I only encountered problems with the free wifi on one evening when the hotel was very full, not sure if this was relevant. As an accessible hotel I thought there would have been a seat provided in the shower. Towels and bedding was changed frequently, although towels were not of the soft fluffy variety. One of the quietest hotels I have been in, no banging doors and loud voices in the night. Whole area is peaceful, with a easy accessible trip into Alkmaar centre, that was so much easier to get round than Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
21
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is one of my favourites.
Nice rooms with comfy beds. Good fast WIFI.

Great menu - lovely food. Really well presented and cooked.

Excellent service throughout.

They even called me to tell me I had left something in the hotel - fantastic. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I am a big fan of this hotel and stay here whenever business dictates.

Room:
Internet ok - not brilliant - kept losing connection and was slow. I was here on business so this was a real pain.
Otherwise room is large and well appointed with tea making facilities (seems to be rare in Holland).
Bathroom spacious and well appointed.

Food:
Dinner was great. Choice a little limited but always of a very high standard and well presented. Price seems fairly average.
Breakfast was less impressive - but I often find breakfast unimpressive in European hotels.
Service great.

Price - reasonable.

Overrall - its on my approved list for when I need to stay in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Warm and friendly welcome in this modern hotel.
Location outside the city center, what is accessible by foot ( 15-20 min ).
The parking is free of charge, what is noteworthy in The Netherlands !
Room is large with kitchenette and a huge bathroom. The hotel is completely wheelchair friendly and it explains the large dimensions of the corridors and the doors.
My room was facing a quiet garden and I slept well the whole night in a ( too soft ? ) bed.
The cleanliness of the room was impeccable.
Wi-Fi was free and did work good ( but the speed was a bit low ).
Very good breakfast, included in the roomprice, as far as I understand, so if you dont need it, you even pay for it.
In my point of view, this hotel is the best option in Alkmaar ans in the region.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mierlo, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice hotel with very friendly people who work there. Room was spaceious, clean and very comfortable, especially the bed and the shower! Its nice and quiet in the hotel. In the garden you can sit also very nice. The breakfast buffet is excellent and diner is also very good. The people who work there are very friendly and helpfull. And free wifi everywhere. The sauna can better be called a wellnes because it is much more than just a sauna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a care hotel that offers facilities for people in need of some respite due to ill health - so there are a number of features that look different such as very wide doors, large lifts, electrically operated beds and spacious wet rooms. The bedrooms are fine, parking and internet are free. The main aspect that stood out for me was the friendliness and helpfulness of staff at reception and in the dining room. Dinner was good (some daily specials keep the price down) and breakfast ok (would benefit from more hot food and fresh fruit). The hotel is a couple of km outside the centre of Alkmaar in a residential area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife declared this the most comfortable bed of our 6 week trip - and she is very fussy about her sleeping comfort. The hotel is really nice and it was great to have a lift instead of lugging bags upstairs as we had to in a number of places on this trip. Our room was spacious with a desk and free internet. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. We dined one night at the restaurant. Quite a nice meal, but a little expensive for what it was. The staff were extremely helpful. We took the wrong exit from the motorway and ended up in the centre of Alkmaar with no idea how to get to the hotel, but we rang reception and they gave us very clear directions and that was how it was whenever we needed anything. We stayed three nights and could have stayed longer. Alkmaar is a beautiful city and it is a good base to explore North Holland - much easier and cheaper than stying in Amsterdam, particularly with a car. Parking was free in the hotel car park. It is some distance from the centre of Alkmaar, but it is only a short drive and there are a number of parking stations in the centre with reasonable rates. Go into the centre in the evening: the lit up buildings and the street decorations with reflections in the canals give it a real fairytale appearance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Palatijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Palatijn

Address: Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Palatijn 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Palatijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Palatijn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.