We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Palatijn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added De Palatijn to your Saves list
De Palatijn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Mierlo, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice hotel with very friendly people who work there. Room was spaceious, clean and very comfortable, especially the bed and the shower! Its nice and quiet in the hotel. In the garden you can sit also very nice. The breakfast buffet is excellent and diner is also very good. The people who work there are very friendly and helpfull. And free wifi everywhere. The sauna can better be called a wellnes because it is much more than just a sauna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
25
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a care hotel that offers facilities for people in need of some respite due to ill health - so there are a number of features that look different such as very wide doors, large lifts, electrically operated beds and spacious wet rooms. The bedrooms are fine, parking and internet are free. The main aspect that stood out for me was the friendliness and helpfulness of staff at reception and in the dining room. Dinner was good (some daily specials keep the price down) and breakfast ok (would benefit from more hot food and fresh fruit). The hotel is a couple of km outside the centre of Alkmaar in a residential area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife declared this the most comfortable bed of our 6 week trip - and she is very fussy about her sleeping comfort. The hotel is really nice and it was great to have a lift instead of lugging bags upstairs as we had to in a number of places on this trip. Our room was spacious with a desk and free internet. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. We dined one night at the restaurant. Quite a nice meal, but a little expensive for what it was. The staff were extremely helpful. We took the wrong exit from the motorway and ended up in the centre of Alkmaar with no idea how to get to the hotel, but we rang reception and they gave us very clear directions and that was how it was whenever we needed anything. We stayed three nights and could have stayed longer. Alkmaar is a beautiful city and it is a good base to explore North Holland - much easier and cheaper than stying in Amsterdam, particularly with a car. Parking was free in the hotel car park. It is some distance from the centre of Alkmaar, but it is only a short drive and there are a number of parking stations in the centre with reasonable rates. Go into the centre in the evening: the lit up buildings and the street decorations with reflections in the canals give it a real fairytale appearance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a Saturday evening. I liked the warm welcome at the reception.
Rooms are spacey and clean.
I didn't have a dinner at the hotel but breakfast was good, higher than a Dutch standard.
Spa facilities are limited and you have to let them know at least half an hour in advance if you are going to use it which I found strange, facility should be available all day long at least.
Overall it definitely worth for the money that I paid and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights while on a motorcycle trip.

Excellent accommodation and great breakfast. Free car park which was ideal for parking the motorcycles.

Pleasant walk into the town centre from the hotel.

Only a 25 minute journey back to the port at Ijmuden.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinnitsa, Vinnyts'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Normal hotel with usual rooms. Bed was not very good, little one.
In general clean hotel with good and friendly personnel.
Breakfasts for the week of staying were always the same and it was annoying.
Hotel not far from historical center of the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, which I had booked based on reviews on T.A.
It is well located in Alkmaar with plenty of parking outside.
Check in staff were helpful and friendly.
The room I had was huge and very clean with a nice comfy bed.
The only negatives were I had no towels and had to phone reception to bring them up, no minibar despite one being advertised, and the internet connection seemed to die every 10 minutes which was annoying when I was trying to work.
But this did not detract from an enjoyable stay at this hotel and I would probably come back if I came to Alkmaar again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Palatijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Palatijn

Address: Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Palatijn 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palatijn is a four star hotel, luxury facilities connects to a unique range of accommodation options. Housed in a modern building with all amenities. Close to the city Alkmaar, the hotel is the perfect place to relax. The 57 single and double rooms are spacious and well equipped. In the beauty salon BBeauty you can relax, but when you have some work to move, you can use the laptop in a quiet area on the Internet via the wireless network. The Palatijn Hotel is within walking distance from the center of Alkmaar. The beach of Egmond and forests of mountains are easily accessible by public transport or bicycle. Moreover, Amsterdam is only half hour away by train from Alkmaar. You can park your car free for the Care Hotel parking. The Care Hotel features an ION charging point for bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your De Palatijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Palatijn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.