We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Alkmaar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Palatijn

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Palatijn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Palatijn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Alkmaar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Alkmaar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a Saturday evening. I liked the warm welcome at the reception.
Rooms are spacey and clean.
I didn't have a dinner at the hotel but breakfast was good, higher than a Dutch standard.
Spa facilities are limited and you have to let them know at least half an hour in advance if you are going to use it which I found strange, facility should be available all day long at least.
Overall it definitely worth for the money that I paid and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
21
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights while on a motorcycle trip.

Excellent accommodation and great breakfast. Free car park which was ideal for parking the motorcycles.

Pleasant walk into the town centre from the hotel.

Only a 25 minute journey back to the port at Ijmuden.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinnitsa, Vinnyts'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Normal hotel with usual rooms. Bed was not very good, little one.
In general clean hotel with good and friendly personnel.
Breakfasts for the week of staying were always the same and it was annoying.
Hotel not far from historical center of the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, which I had booked based on reviews on T.A.
It is well located in Alkmaar with plenty of parking outside.
Check in staff were helpful and friendly.
The room I had was huge and very clean with a nice comfy bed.
The only negatives were I had no towels and had to phone reception to bring them up, no minibar despite one being advertised, and the internet connection seemed to die every 10 minutes which was annoying when I was trying to work.
But this did not detract from an enjoyable stay at this hotel and I would probably come back if I came to Alkmaar again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was originally put off staying at this hotel because of the medical facilities I didn't want it to be like a hospital! Nothing could be further from the truth. The hotel is marvellous for everyone who chooses to stay here. It does have great facilities for people with disabilities, I really loved the ajustable beds even though I am fit and healthy! Staff friendly and helpful rooms spotlessly clean and linen changed after 3 days. Also enjoyed the tea & coffee making facility in the room. We had breakfast which was really nice and included hot food and because it finished late the dining room was never that busy. We did not sample the dinner, but there is a lovely Indoniesian takeaway 2 minutes along from the hotel which served us fab food and 5 minutes along the road to the right of the hotel are two large supermarkets and also a hot food van which sells burgers, chips ect so you won't go hungry!! And of course Alkmaar town centre itself, is only a 10 to 15 minute walk away with all the cafes situated there. All in all a marvellous stay, only point I would make a shelf of some sort to store toiletries in the bathroom would be appriciated!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'm just back from a stay in this Hotel, it was wonderful. The rooms are a good size, the adjustable bed was fantastic. (I could have spent all my time there) Big walk in shower room.The temperature outside was over 30c so the air conditioning was vital. Fridge and sink in the room which was really handy, also free wi-fi, there is a nice outside area to sit in at the back of the hotel.The hotel only 15 minutes walk from town centre. This is the 4th hotel I have stayed at recently in Alkmaar It's the only one with air-conditioning which made a big difference. This was by far the best hotel out of the ones I have stayed at and all in the same price range. With a good breakfast included in the price. Staff were really nice too. I would go back in a minute.
This is a care hotel with fantastic facilities for people with mobility problems, but don't let this put you off it's a really good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We were searching for a hotel located near Amsterdam but outside the city with good road connections and free parking. The Palatijn was all that. The hotel is disabled-friendly so our toddler was easy to transport with the pushchair through the big doors with no thresholds.

The breakfast was with limited selection, but good enough for our needs. We didn't try the dinner.

The hotel staff was very friendly.

One suggestion, though. The hotel has a sauna section with multiple saunas and jacuzzis. The hotel lets in six random people at a time and you're not allowed to wear any swimwear. So unless you're fine being naked with random people of both sexes, skip the sauna.

Other than the somewhat surprising sauna experience, we were happy with the hotel and would go again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Palatijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Palatijn

Address: Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Palatijn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your Hotel de Palatijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Palatijn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.