We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Palatijn

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Palatijn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de Palatijn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Alkmaar
falkirk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'm just back from a stay in this Hotel, it was wonderful. The rooms are a good size, the adjustable bed was fantastic. (I could have spent all my time there) Big walk in shower room.The temperature outside was over 30c so the air conditioning was vital. Fridge and sink in the room which was really handy, also free wi-fi, there is a nice outside area to sit in at the back of the hotel.The hotel only 15 minutes walk from town centre. This is the 4th hotel I have stayed at recently in Alkmaar It's the only one with air-conditioning which made a big difference. This was by far the best hotel out of the ones I have stayed at and all in the same price range. With a good breakfast included in the price. Staff were really nice too. I would go back in a minute.
This is a care hotel with fantastic facilities for people with mobility problems, but don't let this put you off it's a really good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
21
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We were searching for a hotel located near Amsterdam but outside the city with good road connections and free parking. The Palatijn was all that. The hotel is disabled-friendly so our toddler was easy to transport with the pushchair through the big doors with no thresholds.

The breakfast was with limited selection, but good enough for our needs. We didn't try the dinner.

The hotel staff was very friendly.

One suggestion, though. The hotel has a sauna section with multiple saunas and jacuzzis. The hotel lets in six random people at a time and you're not allowed to wear any swimwear. So unless you're fine being naked with random people of both sexes, skip the sauna.

Other than the somewhat surprising sauna experience, we were happy with the hotel and would go again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Good hotel. Walking distance to centre of Alkmaar.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I really like this hotel.

Visitting for business so can't really comment on location.
Rooms - well appointed, light and spacious.

Food - Breakfast was standard type fair.
Dinner was fanastic. Cheese board is the best. Not cheap though.
Staff - nice.

Room Tip: Lifts can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We read reviews on Tripadvisor first so were aware of the hotel's disabled facilities before booking. We like that attitude and de Palatijn has carried it off with style and grace. We would also echo the positive comments already made concerning the large, well equipped rooms and the excellent continental breakfast.

It was only a short and pleasant (sometimes picturesque) walk into the centre of Alkmaar and it is indeed a beautiful little town - as good as any Dutch town/city we have seen. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but - like the breakfast - it looked really good. For the price we paid we consider this hotel to be excellent value. The staff deserve praise too - they were all very pleasant and really helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had a very comfortble room and really liked the adjustable beds and the good sized fridge in the room to store drinks and snacks. Bathroom large with a shower made for easy access. Breakfast times up to 11 am much appreciated and the continental selection was fine with good coffee. Had the daily menu in the restaurant for dinner and thought the food was excellent and the service good. Plenty of parking in front of the hotel. No lounge area on the ground floor and the bar area is in the open plan dining room opposite the reception..
The only negatives for us were that there is nothing in the immediate area and the walk into the centre of town was at least 15 minutes. If we stayed in Alkmaar again would look for a hotel that was more central.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

Hotel setup for disabled and abled visitors a like. It's arrangements may not suit all and I recommend reading the reviews which I think are a balanced view if the hotel and it's arrangements.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Palatijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Palatijn

Address: Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Palatijn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Hotel de Palatijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Palatijn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.