We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Palatijn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added De Palatijn to your Saves list
De Palatijn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Level Contributor
189 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I really like this hotel.

Visitting for business so can't really comment on location.
Rooms - well appointed, light and spacious.

Food - Breakfast was standard type fair.
Dinner was fanastic. Cheese board is the best. Not cheap though.
Staff - nice.

Room Tip: Lifts can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
31
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We read reviews on Tripadvisor first so were aware of the hotel's disabled facilities before booking. We like that attitude and de Palatijn has carried it off with style and grace. We would also echo the positive comments already made concerning the large, well equipped rooms and the excellent continental breakfast.

It was only a short and pleasant (sometimes picturesque) walk into the centre of Alkmaar and it is indeed a beautiful little town - as good as any Dutch town/city we have seen. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but - like the breakfast - it looked really good. For the price we paid we consider this hotel to be excellent value. The staff deserve praise too - they were all very pleasant and really helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had a very comfortble room and really liked the adjustable beds and the good sized fridge in the room to store drinks and snacks. Bathroom large with a shower made for easy access. Breakfast times up to 11 am much appreciated and the continental selection was fine with good coffee. Had the daily menu in the restaurant for dinner and thought the food was excellent and the service good. Plenty of parking in front of the hotel. No lounge area on the ground floor and the bar area is in the open plan dining room opposite the reception..
The only negatives for us were that there is nothing in the immediate area and the walk into the centre of town was at least 15 minutes. If we stayed in Alkmaar again would look for a hotel that was more central.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hotel setup for disabled and abled visitors a like. It's arrangements may not suit all and I recommend reading the reviews which I think are a balanced view if the hotel and it's arrangements.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRENTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Our fourth visit to Alkmaar and this hotel, and it did not disappoint. Large clean rooms with comfortable beds, free wifi (although it would not work for me, I have had problems in many hotels so it’s likely my laptop!), very good meals and extremely helpful staff. The hotel is quiet and around a 15 minute walk from the lovely bars and restaurants in the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
189 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

What a surprise this hotel was!

Food:
Fantastic. Varied menu, well cooked, well served.

Rooms:
Well kitted out for wheelchairs etc, but also spacious and comfrtable for guests without access needs etc. Very large rooms, we equippred, bright and cheery.

Staff:
Friendly and helpful throughout.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

great hotel, friendly staff, clean, excellent room, good rate, good breakfast,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alkmaar
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
#2 of 6 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
#3 of 6 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
#4 of 6 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Stad en Land
Hotel Stad en Land
#5 of 6 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Familie hotel Alkmaar
Familie hotel Alkmaar
#6 of 6 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
5.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Palatijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Palatijn

Address: Dillenburgstraat 1, 1814 JV Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Palatijn 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palatijn is a four star hotel, luxury facilities connects to a unique range of accommodation options. Housed in a modern building with all amenities. Close to the city Alkmaar, the hotel is the perfect place to relax. The 57 single and double rooms are spacious and well equipped. In the beauty salon BBeauty you can relax, but when you have some work to move, you can use the laptop in a quiet area on the Internet via the wireless network. The Palatijn Hotel is within walking distance from the center of Alkmaar. The beach of Egmond and forests of mountains are easily accessible by public transport or bicycle. Moreover, Amsterdam is only half hour away by train from Alkmaar. You can park your car free for the Care Hotel parking. The Care Hotel features an ION charging point for bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your De Palatijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Palatijn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.