We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Hotel Alkmaar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Hotel Alkmaar to your Saves list
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geestersingel 15, 1815A Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
London, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Probably only a 3 star but a perfectly acceptable choice. Convenient location only 5 minutes walk from all of the attractions. Comfortable rooms and adequate breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. Also has on-site car parking facilities which is an added bonus in Alkmaar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    59
    37
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
42
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in the amrath several times while on business in holland and always had a great stay . Friendly service , good breakfast (no food in evenings ) nice clean rooms , good wifi . Located 5 minutes from train station and 5 minutes from alkmaar city centre, ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Located 50km from Amsterdam opposite a small town park and lake in a very quiet setting, the Amrath was very dark and dismal on the day we arrived with little sun out and colours and decor which are not bright and inviting.

Neither were the staff who didn't smile or welcome us.

There's ample parking underneath the hotel, a big lift to cater for luggage, although you have to struggle with tight and heavy doors getting in and out of the carpark into the hotel.

There's pleasantly surprising large rooms with big windows, TV and one channel in English, a valuables safe, huge bathroom with bath and a really good shower, fridge, tea/coffee facilities and extra large pillows. Wi Fi was available.

The only negatives were the stench of cigarette smell in the towels and along the corridors, despite the No Smoking signs but the clear presence of ashtrays in the rooms!?!

Breakfast has a very good selection in a bright morning room.

Would not have wanted a second night here as there's not enough to see around the town, but it was okay.

Room Tip: Our room at the back overlooked other buildings. I suggest asking for a front room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

When I will reach about 200 reviews and look back at this review, I think I will not remember this hotel at all. I will remember the great evening I had in Alkmaar, but this hotel, let's face it: It is just very plain and average, it will not leave a lasting impression. I stayed in Room 301, which happened to be the room for disable persons, so I had an ocean of space and support bars everywhere in the bathroom. The room in itself was clean, I had too little contact with the staff to be able to judge them, the view made me want to shut the curtains, but the location of the hotel is good, you are only 5 minutes away from the small and ancient streets of Alkmaar. The room was noisy, I could hear people in the hallways. All in all, if you are in town and you're only looking for a place to sleep, you might as well take this hotel. If you are looking for character, a charming hotel which offers you great value for money, keep on searching. One more comment, the hotel has a private parking in the back with room to park a bus. That is one thing less to worry about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I travelled with two other couples to Alkmaar where we spent three nights at the Amrath Hotel. When I booked their rooms are listed as 'Deluxe' - well this is not the case. They are reasonably comfortable with clean bathroom facilities however wall paper hanging off, stains on wall and old TVs with limited channels. Yes we did have free wifi, good location for the Station and travelling around nearby areas however if you want in bit more in terms of 'Deluxe' do not book Amrath. On the plus side the staff are welcoming and efficient, beware breakfast very expensive and you can eat out nearby for much less.
Overall a good stay however the Hotel is more a Three star!

Room Tip: Book the best room you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a bad experience with another motel in alkmaar so we searched around and found this one, the staff there were very helpful to our needs and it was a great place to stay and very central, we would highly recommend this place thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuitjenhorn, Northern Holland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Amrath Hotel is meant for short stays. Last year I had to do a painting project of our staircase, so my wife and I stayed two nights in this hotel. Nice, friendly staff. Nice, clean and tidy rooms. Just outside the old Centre of the medieval town of Alkmaar. The building itself is a converted court of law, the architecture of the building is not hotel-like from the outside.

Room Tip: Would recommend the cheaper rooms. They are just a little smaller than the more expensive rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Hotel Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel Alkmaar

Address: Geestersingel 15, 1815A Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel Alkmaar 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an hospitable, charming yet modern hotel in the centre of Alkmaar, in which to stay the night during either a business or pleasure trip? If so, then the most comfortable option is the Amrath Hotel Alkmaar! Built in 2005, this new hotel has 84 deluxe rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Hotel Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alkmaar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Hotel Alkmaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.