We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B in Alkmaar worthy of Aphrodite and Zeus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Onassis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pension Onassis to your Saves list
Pension Onassis
Varnebroek 37, 1815 HA Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Alkmaar B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“B & B in Alkmaar worthy of Aphrodite and Zeus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This little pension is quite possibly the best accommodation I have ever experienced ! It is hard to put into words just how good this B&B really is for a stay in Alkmaar, because words alone can't fairly describe just how wonderful and accommodating the owners of this property are and how lovely the place really is, but I'll try...
We made our reservation on-line at bookings.com, with ease. We stayed for three nights, arriving on a Saturday morning, having taken an early morning train from Amsterdam. It was our first time to Alkmaar and we weren't quite sure what to expect. We wanted to see the city and enjoy the AZ Alkmaar soccer match that weekend. Staying at the Pension Onassis was ideal for both !
From the time Teny opened the door to welcome us in, until our early morning departure 3 days later, we felt like we were staying with family or old friends.
After unpacking and settling into our spacious upstairs apartment, we took our first of many walks around the city of Alkmaar. The entire area surrounding this hotel is clean and safe and quiet. The peaceful neighborhood and city park await you just outside the front door and make for a very pleasant stroll. The inner city of Alkmaar, with all it's Dutch charm, is only minutes away by foot.
On Sunday morning, our host Peter offered to allow us to accompany him on a short drive to the beach at Egmond to walk his two dogs. We graciously accepted the ride to the beach and had so much we fun there that we almost lost track of time and found ourselves running a bit late for our soccer match that afternoon. Not to worry though, Peter drove us to the stadium saving us the 20 minute walk. By the way, the home team won that day;-)
Our accommodations included a kitchen with a sink and a stove, refrigerator, coffee maker and a cupboard with glassware, knives, forks and spoons, etc. Basically, we had everything we needed to enjoy meals in our room, but we chose to eat our lunch and dinner out on the town. Of course, we enjoyed the wonderfully fresh breakfasts prepared by our hosts Peter and Teny downstairs each morning.
Our room was clean and spacious. Each area of the apartment is heated by individual gas radiators, which can be easily adjusted for perfect climate control. The beds were comfortable. Our bathroom was large and clean with a shower (no bath). We enjoyed the nice selection of cable T.V. channels available and the free WiFi in the room, as well. However, it was the very relaxing and refreshing indoor pool and sauna that really helps to make this hotel unique among B & B experiences. And if you are looking for a romantic getaway, I'd suggest booking the Honeymoon suite. Peter gave us the tour and it is truly fantastic !!
The price we paid for our room was in line with all the other B&B's and hotels in Alkmaar, for the time that we stayed there. We feel that we got an excellent value for the price.
We really can't wait to return. We will be making our reservation again with Peter and Teny, at the Pension Onassis, for our future visits to Alkmaar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend away staying at Pension Onassis. Wow it was lovely. We stayed in the family room although there was only two of us. The owners Peter and Tinie were so friendly and helpful. They made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was continental with plenty of choice of breads. We had meat, cheese, yoghurt, fresh fruit and boiled egg. We had fresh orange juice and coffee. Everything was fresh and very tasty. I would love to stay here again. I would recommend this B&B . The location was also excellent. So close to the centre of Alkmaar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I did stay here for two nights and it is the best hotel I have stayed in because it was clean and with plenty of room and also excellent service. I was given a lift to the station on the last morning with my luggage which was a big help for me. This hotel is some four minutes walking from the centre of Alkmaar and you go past a real Dutch windmill, canal and bridge on the way into town. I did walk rather slowly to enjoy the walk into town. I would highly recommend this very friendly oasis which has a Greek/Roman theme in the decor with a large indoor swimming pool and sauna. I have gone to Alkmaar often in the past and I only wish I had found this place earlier that is my only regret. The price was good value and I had two quiet night sleeps.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Pension Onassis what a wonderful B&B. Peter and Tinie the owners two really nice and helpful people. We had gone to the lovely city of Alkmaar for the Blues Express weekend. When I got in touch with Peter to book for the weekend I asked for directions, he told me to give him a call from the train station and he would collect us and at the end of the weekend kindly dropped us back. The atmosphere was just fantastic, the apartment we had was really nice and the beautiful swimming pool was amazing. Hoping to get back there again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful pension with our 2 young kids. We had a very big family room which was excellent with great beds and it was very quiet. The couple that is running the pension are extremely friendly and helpful in all matters. They took us to and from the train station every day when we wanted to go into Amsterdam. Breakfast was very nice. The kids loved the swimming pool. The location in Alkmaar is also excellent just a short walk away from the old town and beautiful canals in the city. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Alkmaar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Onassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Onassis

Address: Varnebroek 37, 1815 HA Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Onassis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Onassis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.