We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel ruined by incompetent staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Alkmaar

Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Alkmaar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arcadialaan 6, 1813 KN Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel ruined by incompetent staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I booked and paid for this hotel via Expedia, when I checked in they took a copy of the Expedia receipt, even though the hotel knew I had paid in full they still took money from my account without notifying me, when the hotel refunded the money I didn’t get the full amount back due to transaction charges, the hotel have said even though it was their mistake it’s not their problem that I'm out of pocket.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
7
23
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a simple hotel/motel located near the motorway. It is not the cheapest place to stay, especially for what you get. The rooms are clean but basic. Near the football stadium and about 20 minutes walking distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Situated near the football ground and 20 minutes walk from town it is a good clean efficient hotel. I stayed for two nights and slept well both nights. I ate in the bar after a long day travelling and the service was very quick, the burger was good and the beer cold. the bar staff were very friendly and happy for us just to sit and eat at the bar. I feel I am cheating them to give an average score but it is not a 'great' hotel just a good one and I wish there was a 3.5 star rating..
Positives are many, staff all very helpful. Free soft peppermints at reception! Clean large functional rooms. Free internet which is reasonably fast. Breakfast was average. But I ate well slept well and have nothing but praise for the staff. So a good stay...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Family trip at Easter with a one night stopover at this hotel in a family room. The room was enormous, with a large double bed and a bunk bed almost lost in it! Beds clean and comfortable. Bathroom, again enormous. However, the rooms and the common areas lacked any style and soul - just very functional.

Comprehensive, tasty fresh breakfast buffet. The hotel is about one mile into the centre of town. We cycled (but could easily have walked) in to see the cheese market, which was a blessing because parking was very difficult. The centre of the city is lovely, with a great cafe culture after the market has closed down.

Overall, certainly no regrets or complaints about the hotel, but just felt it could be so much better with not a lot of cost but just a bit of thought put into it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night to visit the region. Very convinient location if you have a car - right off the main ring road around alkmaar, so easy to get to and around the region. We visited Schoorl, which is very worthwhile. The centre of Alkmaar is 20 mins away walking, which is what we did, although their is a bus as well, but we didn't test that.

The room is good sized, everything that you would expect. The wifi wasn't smoothe though - we had to collect a code from reception, and then it still didn't work.

Breakfast is good, with a good selection of typically dutch breakfast items.

The staff are nice and friendly, and even put up with us speaking in our broken, slow dutch (this isn't always the case - Dutch can sometimes be a very hard language to practice with the natives).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were staying in the hotel for one night. The hotel is quite good located and can be easily reach from the center by taxi which costs about 10 euro. The room was basic but spatious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpfull. The restaurant was excellent and breakfast buffet was varied so everyone could find something for themselves. The price was reasonable and I received what I expected.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Looking for a good hotel in the city of Alkmaar, think of this Golden Tulip. It is welll situated near the motor highway, but still in the city. With own parkingspace, good food and nice staff, this is a good accomodation.
Breakfast could be a bit better though: some items (for example scrambled eggs) were not available anymore at approx. 07:30 am.
Also, the bedrooms are very standard and sober, but with a lot of space and the bed was good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Alkmaar

Address: Arcadialaan 6, 1813 KN Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Alkmaar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Golden Tulip Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkmaar Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Alkmaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.