We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, decent hotel, and walkable to Alkmaar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Alkmaar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Alkmaar to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arcadialaan 6, 1813 KN Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice, decent hotel, and walkable to Alkmaar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night to visit the region. Very convinient location if you have a car - right off the main ring road around alkmaar, so easy to get to and around the region. We visited Schoorl, which is very worthwhile. The centre of Alkmaar is 20 mins away walking, which is what we did, although their is a bus as well, but we didn't test that.

The room is good sized, everything that you would expect. The wifi wasn't smoothe though - we had to collect a code from reception, and then it still didn't work.

Breakfast is good, with a good selection of typically dutch breakfast items.

The staff are nice and friendly, and even put up with us speaking in our broken, slow dutch (this isn't always the case - Dutch can sometimes be a very hard language to practice with the natives).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
7
29
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were staying in the hotel for one night. The hotel is quite good located and can be easily reach from the center by taxi which costs about 10 euro. The room was basic but spatious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpfull. The restaurant was excellent and breakfast buffet was varied so everyone could find something for themselves. The price was reasonable and I received what I expected.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Looking for a good hotel in the city of Alkmaar, think of this Golden Tulip. It is welll situated near the motor highway, but still in the city. With own parkingspace, good food and nice staff, this is a good accomodation.
Breakfast could be a bit better though: some items (for example scrambled eggs) were not available anymore at approx. 07:30 am.
Also, the bedrooms are very standard and sober, but with a lot of space and the bed was good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Nice location. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful regarding things to do in the area. She was also efficient at checking us in for the night.

The room was spacious and overlooked the main street. It was pretty and even though on the street side it was quiet. No street noise.

The price was reasonable for the quality of room and service we received.

The only down side was the breakfast was very costly therefore we chose not to eat here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

PROS:
This was the most spacious room we've stayed at in Europe.
Affordable
VERY friendly staff
Free wireless internet with very good connection (was able to do Skype and perform other tasks online without any degradation)

CONS:
Toilet was placed right against a side wall in the bathroom making it difficult to sit on the toilet in that particular room. Not sure if it was an anomaly to that room or not.

OTHER:
The room was plain with three single beds (two for my wife and I and one for our child).

Room Tip: Room 410 had the strange bathroom layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The rooms were ok but the style was a bit outdated and dark. All in all the hotel was quite basic.

But I must say that the breakfeast was very nice. :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed for 1 night. Nothing special. Room was clean, average beds, no amenities to speak of: 1 small tube of shampoo and 1 of showergel . Nothing in the room to reflect festive season, no coffee/tea facilities, no magazines, no writing materials, no minibar (although there is a vending machine for candy, condoms and sodas...). Quite disappointing for the price and breakfast is 13 euros extra. That was worth it however!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Alkmaar

Address: Arcadialaan 6, 1813 KN Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Alkmaar 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkmaar Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Alkmaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.