We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Alkmaar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Alkmaar to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gedempte Nieuwesloot 36, 1811 KT Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed her on a business trip, overall it was a nice hotel with individual designed rooms. However was lacking in little details although I was supposed to be in a superior room there was no kettle or coffee maker and the duvet on the bed was so thin I had to put the one from the other bed on top. Breakfast was adequate. Alkmaar itself was a quaint place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
37
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately the weather was very bad when I visited Alkmaar and it was in the middle of the week, so when I arrived at the hotel it was dark, wet and quiet.
It is situated in the old centre near shops, restaurants and even a cinema all within easy walking distance. It looked very nice and I hope I get another opportunity when the weather and timing is more favorable.
They gave me a room at the end on the 2nd floor and it is a nice modern room of average size with a comfortable bed, tv, desk etc. nice touch is the provision of a senseo coffee machine in your room. Included is also internet, unfortunately internet throughput was so bad I couldn't pick up a single email. When I complained about it they said sorry and gave me access to the business connection, which was equally bad unfortunately.
After a good nights sleep and an excellent shower, I headed down to the breakfast room. Unfortunately they decided it to light it like a nightclub and it was quite dark. There is a nice selection of breakfast options, but I would avoid the scrambled eggs. I would be surprised if they used fresh eggs for that.
To finish things, there were a few niggles, but the value is good and the service is good as well. All staff was helpful and accommodating. If you need to be in Alkmaar I would definitely try this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is situated in the city centre of Alkmaar with direct access to restaurants, the cinema and the pubs. The hotel is located in in an old post office which has been used as inspiration for all the decorating in the hotel and the name of the restaurant.

The rooms are modern decorated and of good quality. But I do not know if these rooms fit a 4 star hotel. The bathroom is ok but was a little bit smelly. In the morning you can grab breakfast in de "Zegels" restaurant. A simply but ok breakfast. Nothing fancy.

The pricing of the hotel is ok for what you get. But do not expect something very special based on the 4 stars.

Room Tip: We had room number 119. Please choose a different one because this is situated at the main hall for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Grand Hotel in Alkmaar is a comfortable, well situated hotel in the old part of town, and an easy walk to everything of note. It has been renovated and extended, and is now quite modern. The hotel has a great bar area, and a large breakfast room. Unfortunately the breakfast wasn't that "grand" as the hot foods and coffee were cold - both mornings we were there, and the staff seemed as though they couldn't care less. The Reception was an odd place too - never anyone there. However, regardless of these oddities, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the street are noisy from the bar across the road, until about 10pm, then it quietens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed on Thursday night before the cheese market is held.
During the season, a traditional cheese market is being held at Waagplein on Friday morning.
I booked a deluxe double room, but maybe that has been upgraded to Superior double with courtesy of the hotel.
It was quite large room facing the Gedempte Nieuwesloot, and was bright with three large windows.
Sparkling wine was provided for breakfast.
To Waagplein and cheese museum is about 3 minutes walk.
Please try to shop by Notenbranderij, Magdalenenstraat 8, between the hotel and Waagplein.
You can buy delicious freshly roasted nuts.

Room Tip: 106 is large and bright, also toword to the street, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We hadn't been here for 4 years so tried it again.The entrance is very scruffy and you have to struggle through all the smokers standing inside the entrance. There is also a big bin at the door always overflowing with rubbish. We paid a lot to upgrade to an executive room but it was basic. No dressing gown/slippers/pen/paper/tissues/minibar/iron/board/fan/ac/safe. No view and a lot of noise late at night from staff filling the bottle skips.The room was dark and the beds are very soft.The toilet is in a cupboard with no sink! The bath and shower are open plan so no privacy! Breakfast was poor with nothing for vegetarians. The location is good in town

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've been there for two days in June 2013, for a technical training. The first impression was the Grand Hotel is not that... 'grand', I've almost passed by it (good thing they had the flags). Also, the lobby was hallway-like with access to all other areas and most of the staff seemed to be multitasking (receptionist, waiter, cook etc.).
However, after this wavering start, things were getting better and better. The service was great, the restaurant also, the junior suite room was very nice, the view not so much as it looked over the roof and the ventilation units but it didn't matter. The staff was also very friendly and helpfull. The location is very convenient, about 10 minutes walking from the railway station, right in the centre of the city, close to the cheese market.
All in all, it was a great experience, I will gladly return there.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi in the middle of the room and the double open-space showers are intriguing ideas. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Alkmaar

Address: Gedempte Nieuwesloot 36, 1811 KT Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Alkmaar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Alkmaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.