We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, although the first impression may be misleading” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Alkmaar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Alkmaar to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gedempte Nieuwesloot 36, 1811 KT Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, although the first impression may be misleading”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've been there for two days in June 2013, for a technical training. The first impression was the Grand Hotel is not that... 'grand', I've almost passed by it (good thing they had the flags). Also, the lobby was hallway-like with access to all other areas and most of the staff seemed to be multitasking (receptionist, waiter, cook etc.).
However, after this wavering start, things were getting better and better. The service was great, the restaurant also, the junior suite room was very nice, the view not so much as it looked over the roof and the ventilation units but it didn't matter. The staff was also very friendly and helpfull. The location is very convenient, about 10 minutes walking from the railway station, right in the centre of the city, close to the cheese market.
All in all, it was a great experience, I will gladly return there.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi in the middle of the room and the double open-space showers are intriguing ideas. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
6
36
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The outside of he hotel makes you think of a luxurious hotel in old style in the middle of Alkmaar.
The receptionist seems to be the cook too and 'takes care' of the breakfast and probably most of the other things in the hotel. I was staying in the grand hotel with colleagues for a work trip and even hough we all paid the same price we had a mix of almsot a box room, normal standard room to a big room with jacuzzi. The check in was unclear as the receptionist/cook gave a fast explanation of where my room was, how to reach it and what to do after wanting to enter the hotel after a certain hour. At the end I ahd no idea what my room nummer was as you get a pass to enter your room but there isn't any number mentioned. I only understood I had to take the stairs and on which floor I was. After that I walked through halls up and down, opening doors in the hall and around the hotel till I found my room. The confusion wasn't because of the language as I speak Dutch.
The room itself looked nice and modern when entering but mine was very small. The bathroom also looked very modern but between the open shower and the toilet there was a very short wall which made the water of the shower (even if you almost don't move) making the whole bathroom floor wet. Then there was the noise of a ventilator on 24h a day in the bathroom which didn't go off, not even if you take your pass out of the wall so there isn't electricity. This made it impossible to sleep. It was warm in the room during the night, but opening the window let in the noise of people in the houses you have in front of your room and a street near to it. The matrass was very soft and even though I am small and don't weigh a lot, I was sleeping like you would fall inside the matrass. My back hurt for the two nights I was there and couldn't sleep at all.
The brakfast was poor. There were no cereal bowls anymore and when asking if I could have one, the receptionist who was taking care of the breakfast was getting annoyed because he told me there were bowls until he went to show me where and there weren't any. There isn't a lot of choice and for fruit you can find a basket of apples.
I only stayed once in this hotel but enver want to go back. Several of my collagues had the same opinion after their visit here.
The only nice thing about the hotel is the history, as it used to be a post office.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very nice stay here, room was at back of hotel so didn't get any noise from people tipping out of pubs on the way home in the evening. Fantastic location virtually right in the middle of town and 5 min walk to the Waag Plein where the cheese market is played out in the summer months. Excellent restaurant next door as well, Van Heeren Von Sonoy I think it was, and although didn't have brekkie friends of ours did and said it was excellent, even with cooked items such as bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, salmon and even sparkling wine to have with orange juice should you desire! Our 3rd stay here and always enjoy it, and quirkiest lift as well!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel pretty much in the center of Alkmaar. Only thing is that the room was very warm, even with the window open. A little fan would be great thing to have if traveling around July.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am not the first reviewer to have found that a confirmed booking made on the hotel's own website does not allegedly find its way on their computer. Having read of previous visitors problems, I emailed the hotel ten days before my visit to seek confirmation that my booking was guaranteed but that brought no response. My guess is that the problem only exists on Thursday nights as there is a world famous attraction at 10am every Friday morning during the summer months, namely the Alkmaar Cheese Market and the hotels prime location is only 150 meters from the square where this is held. The hotel clearly has many tour groups staying on Thursdays therefore bookings are not worth anything. My booking was made in December 2012 for a July 2013 visit and my arrival time was early enough at 3.00 pm. The receptionist did not deny that their behaviour was unprofessional and showed no remorse. He did offer me a free meal at the restaurant, but when I arrived there were staff visible and nobody in the restaurant so I did not take up the offer. I always thought that the Dutch did things correctly but I can only say that my experience left a nasty taste in the mouth. My suggestion is avoid on Thursdays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Good location in town central quiet Bed was European style. good business trip The bathroom, like the bedroom was very clean with a good shower and a hair dryer. Breakfast was a self service buffet with a good selection although after 4 days it lacked a bit of variety. Free wi-if available

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Grand Hotel is in the centre of the wonderfully quaint city of Alkmaar. Its a short stroll to everything....De Waag cheesemarket and museum, the Stedelijk Museum, the street market on Saturdays, the main canal with beautiful bridges that open up to let passing ships and yachts pass through, and the colourful , well stocked shops. The rooms are spacious and spotless, well appointed with coffeemaking facilities etc, and quality fittings. The bar downstairs is cosy, and the dining room offers meals including a lavish breakfast buffet....including ( when we were there in May) smoked salmon, variety of breads , croissants, eggs, fruits, tea selection coffe etc etc.
A delightful renovation of the old Post Office, this is a Grand building and offers a fantastic place to stay in the heart of this historic Dutch city.

Room Tip: streetfront rooms give interesting outlook ... especially Saturdays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Alkmaar

Address: Gedempte Nieuwesloot 36, 1811 KT Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Alkmaar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Alkmaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.