We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Alkmaar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Alkmaar to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gedempte Nieuwesloot 36, 1811 KT Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel pretty much in the center of Alkmaar. Only thing is that the room was very warm, even with the window open. A little fan would be great thing to have if traveling around July.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
35
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am not the first reviewer to have found that a confirmed booking made on the hotel's own website does not allegedly find its way on their computer. Having read of previous visitors problems, I emailed the hotel ten days before my visit to seek confirmation that my booking was guaranteed but that brought no response. My guess is that the problem only exists on Thursday nights as there is a world famous attraction at 10am every Friday morning during the summer months, namely the Alkmaar Cheese Market and the hotels prime location is only 150 meters from the square where this is held. The hotel clearly has many tour groups staying on Thursdays therefore bookings are not worth anything. My booking was made in December 2012 for a July 2013 visit and my arrival time was early enough at 3.00 pm. The receptionist did not deny that their behaviour was unprofessional and showed no remorse. He did offer me a free meal at the restaurant, but when I arrived there were staff visible and nobody in the restaurant so I did not take up the offer. I always thought that the Dutch did things correctly but I can only say that my experience left a nasty taste in the mouth. My suggestion is avoid on Thursdays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Good location in town central quiet Bed was European style. good business trip The bathroom, like the bedroom was very clean with a good shower and a hair dryer. Breakfast was a self service buffet with a good selection although after 4 days it lacked a bit of variety. Free wi-if available

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Grand Hotel is in the centre of the wonderfully quaint city of Alkmaar. Its a short stroll to everything....De Waag cheesemarket and museum, the Stedelijk Museum, the street market on Saturdays, the main canal with beautiful bridges that open up to let passing ships and yachts pass through, and the colourful , well stocked shops. The rooms are spacious and spotless, well appointed with coffeemaking facilities etc, and quality fittings. The bar downstairs is cosy, and the dining room offers meals including a lavish breakfast buffet....including ( when we were there in May) smoked salmon, variety of breads , croissants, eggs, fruits, tea selection coffe etc etc.
A delightful renovation of the old Post Office, this is a Grand building and offers a fantastic place to stay in the heart of this historic Dutch city.

Room Tip: streetfront rooms give interesting outlook ... especially Saturdays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were originally meant to stay in this hotel for our second night in Alkmaar, but ended up staying 2 nights due to our other hotel going MIA (had booked with Hotel Stad En Land directly, but when we arrived everything was locked and phone was just the recorded message saying the reception is unattended). Grand Hotel staff were awesome as they tried contacting people they knew to see what was going on with Stad En Land, but could not get an answer. So they were good enough to book us in a day earlier, and still only charge as the internet rate!
Did take us awhile to actually find the hotel as it did not have a huge sign (and we were already agro with what was going on with the other hotel) but this hotel was so much better located. In the old town, not even 5 minutes walk to the cheese market, room was very big and clean, breakfast nice and overall turned a bad thing into a great find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for four nights in June as a base for exploring the local area. The hotel was modern and well positioned for the towns amenities. Had a double room on the first floor which was quiet at night and we slept really well. Bed was European style of 2 singles pushed together but very comfortable. The bathroom, like the bedroom was very clean with a good shower and a hair dryer. Breakfast was a self service buffet with a good selection although after 4 days it lacked a bit of variety. Free wi-if available with a code from the front desk, multiple codes available if you have more than one device. Would definitely stay again if visiting Alkmaar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited the Grand Hotel Alkmar for one night in April when taking a mini break to Holland. The hotel is modern, smart and well presented and in a good position. We had a room on the top floor and the room was quiet however the bed was uncomfortable and rather than being a comfy double was two singles pushed together with no zip locks so the bed drifted apart in the night. Also two of the lights in the room did not work which was a bit annoying. We did not really see any staff to ask as the reception was not manned - however overall we were quite happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Alkmaar

Address: Gedempte Nieuwesloot 36, 1811 KT Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Alkmaar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Alkmaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.