We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Familie hotel Alkmaar

Familie hotel Alkmaar
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Familie hotel Alkmaar to your Saves list
Familie hotel Alkmaar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Payglop 17-19, 1811 HM Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The owner picked us up, it can be hard to find but the location of perfect for exploring the city. Ideal location after some heavy pubcrawling at the nearby Waagplein.. There are different types of rooms in different buildings; do your research in advance if you are afraid of climbing stairs or have objections against shared facilities...!
We have a very nice time, the location and value for money are excellent.

Room Tip: do your research, there is a great variety in roomtypes, location, shared facilities etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked on booking.com a day before, and missed the driving instructions of the owner sent to us on e-mail. It is defenetly advisable to get them... The family appartement was on the 2nd floor with a iron starecase on the side of the building, my daughter 5 yrs was a bit affraid but we managed. Otherwise the room was comfortable with lots on space and the owner was friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Endel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked for 7 nights but due to the ernomous amount of stairs, my elderley mother found it extremely difficult.We vacated the premises after one night and had to pay the full amount. The owner was quite rude and very unsympathetic to my mother's situation. After a month of emailing Booking.com we finally received a percentage of the money from the hotel. Found it very strange that there was no "reception" to register. The hotel informed us that they were a 5 star hotel but after making enquiries found this not to be the case.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alkmaar hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 4 times during July and August. The first time I stayed in the main part of the hotel it was really large and very spacious the kitchen area was huge and the shower and toilet was very near the rooms all on the one level The next 3 times it was in the smaller area which had a shared kitchen and bathroom on one floor and the shower on the next floor. Having the use of the kitchen facilities was really convienient and I enjoyed sitting outside having coffee or a snack The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly and not like a hotel at all The last time I stayed my 20 year old son was with me he loved the place we were on the top floor this time and had our own balcony which was great.The hotel is smack in the middle of town a great location Bob and Tiny are fantastic hosts I was there visiting a serously ill realative who sadly passed away whilst I was staying there The care and attention shown to me from both of them was wonderful Tiny even did my sons washing for him as he was going travelling when we left surely above and beyond what you would expect from hotel proprieters. The shared bathroom/shower put me off at first but don't let this stop you from visitng this wonderful establishment. I will never forget my time staying here and I will never forget Bob & Tiny such a lovely couple and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice in two weeks. The rooms are spacious and clean. It's very handy to be able to use all the kitchen facilities, ( saves some money too) the hotel has a nice friendly feel to it. it's like a home from home. The couple who run it couldn't be nicer or do enough for you.
The location is fantasic out the door and you're right in the middle of town. The only down side I would say are the shared toilet and shower. Although this wouldn't put me off booking again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I felt very at home here. The service is fantastic - rooms are clean & modern - the location is perfect. The owners are great people and really care about the guests.

Enjoy!! I look forward to staying again next time I am in town.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs, see if there is a room where you do not need to climb. It did not both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel012266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed for around 4 days. The rooms and bathroom were super clean. The location was also perfect. (just 10 mins walk to the station). The owners are extremely helpful especially Sophie, the daughter.
All in all i had a wonderful time and would definitely reccoment this place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiharK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alkmaar hotels
0.5 mi away
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
#2 of 5 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
#3 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
#1 of 5 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stad en Land
Hotel Stad en Land
#4 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Inn City Hostel
King's Inn City Hostel
#2 of 4 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alkmaarse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Familie hotel Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familie hotel Alkmaar

Address: Payglop 17-19, 1811 HM Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Familie hotel Alkmaar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Familie hotel Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing