We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Schipol airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chariot

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chariot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Chariot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosteinderweg 243 | 1432 AT Aalsmeer, Aalsmeer 1432, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Ask for a Free roomupgrad
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Aalsmeer
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient for Schipol airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Thought this hotel would be an alternative to the normal chains. The standard room I had was clean. The shower had plenty of hot water with sensible pressure even on the top floor. Unfortunately there was a variable background noise outside that needed a second pillow to block it out.
The courtesy bus (9€) from the hotel to the airport was efficient. If travelling into Amsterdam don't use a taxi (50€), use the courtesy bus then the train (only 4€).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    20
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
22
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here overnight before an early morning departure from Schiphol. The nearest train station is Schiphol from which we were able to catch the shuttle bus to the hotel. There is a charge. The hotel is a long way out of the town centre and no public transport to take you in. OK if you come by car. However they organised that we could catch a lift in on the way to the airport and we had a pleasant walk back to the hotel.The staff were friendly and helpful on booking. We had time to explore and they advised us as to what we could do and booked us on a boat tour around Aalsmeer. Our room was comfortable and quiet and we enjoyed an excellent dinner. Would be happy to stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Chariot Hotel, Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, the food was good, the rooms large and spacious, would like to have stayed longer and would certainly book again. Good location for the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

One of the most efficient and friendly hotels I have ever stayed in - absolutely perfect in every way from the wonderful receptionist on check-in, quality of room, bar and restaurant.

Would go out of my way to stay at the Hotel Chariot again

Room Tip: Room 306 on the third floor ticked all the boxes and I'm sure all the rooms are of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We called the hotel a day before arrival and the reception gave us the option standaard or executive room. We picked the executive. Told the hotel we would arrive by bike so that they knew we could be somewhat later as planned. We arrived at the hotel in time and they told us we got booked to an other hotel as they were overbooked. Not one room but 5 and where already sold out a week ago. Why not call? They had our cellphone number. We went to the hotel where they had booked another room for us but noone knew about the reservation at all. Luckely they had a great spacious room for us.
So never never going to book Hotel Chariot again after this horrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Located at 10 km from Schiphol Airport (they have a shuttle), this hotel is a real discovery. The standard rooms are not big, but not as tiny as seems to become the norm either. My bathroom was big though - unfortunately the bath tub was a bit too short to be really comfortable. But that would be my only minor complaint. All the fixtures are brand new, the furniture looks good and moderately stylish, the bed was perfect, the sheets new and soft. The hotel is quiet and clean and offers a good free wi-fi service. On the second floor (where my room was located) you can admire a huge collection of terrible "real paint" Van Gogh reproductions - so far over the top that it becomes funny. :-)
Very friendly service at the reception, extremely friendly and helpful at breakfast. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've had in this class of hotels: lots of choice and very fresh, top quality ingredients. At 16€ it is too expensive though (which is the main reason I'm giving 4 instead of 5 stars). But I paid only 75€ for single occupancy of a double room, and for this price I'd wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Chariot.

(The restaurant adjacent to the hotel I wouldn't recommend. It was presented to me as the hotel restaurant, but I couldn't charge the meal to my hotel bill. All main dishes are over 20 euros, and my more modest French onion soup was just ok, while my so-called Caesar's salad must have been the only one in the world without chicken.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a disappointment. We were embarrassed to stay there.
Hotel Taxi 24-hour pick-up didn come after all , even though the Hotel
said to pick up us in 15 minutes.
it was really hard to have been kept waiting outside the cold airport
at 10 pm at a waiting place standing for 1hour .
I had a confirmation phone call to the hotel many times, but in the voice mail, it was not connected at all.
After all, I went to the hotel by taxi of the airport.
There was no word of apology from Front desk lady (men sitting in the back was laughing)
though they returned the taxi fare.
Shower room musty, poor amenities.
Next day, you return to the hotel, hair was attached to the shower
curtain and bathtub dispite left tips on the pillow.

I inquired to the hotel with respect to these matters,
Reply came from the service manager more than 2 weeks later.
He wrote "Because the summer time is a very busy period for us, this can
happen sometime"

We recommend everyone never to have an accomodation here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chariot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chariot

Also Known As:
Chariot Hotel Aalsmeer
Address: Oosteinderweg 243 | 1432 AT Aalsmeer, Aalsmeer 1432, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Aalsmeer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Aalsmeer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chariot 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute car drive from Schiphol Airport. Hotel Chariot offers a variety of rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has a 24-hour connection with the terminal of the airport and the trainstation. The restaurant is well-known for its quality coffee and grill specialities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chariot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chariot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.