We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse experience/ Zeer slechte ervaring” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chariot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chariot to your Saves list
Hotel Chariot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosteinderweg 243 | 1432 AT Aalsmeer, 1432 Aalsmeer, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aalsmeer
Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worse experience/ Zeer slechte ervaring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We called the hotel a day before arrival and the reception gave us the option standaard or executive room. We picked the executive. Told the hotel we would arrive by bike so that they knew we could be somewhat later as planned. We arrived at the hotel in time and they told us we got booked to an other hotel as they were overbooked. Not one room but 5 and where already sold out a week ago. Why not call? They had our cellphone number. We went to the hotel where they had booked another room for us but noone knew about the reservation at all. Luckely they had a great spacious room for us.
So never never going to book Hotel Chariot again after this horrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    57
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
30
36
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Located at 10 km from Schiphol Airport (they have a shuttle), this hotel is a real discovery. The standard rooms are not big, but not as tiny as seems to become the norm either. My bathroom was big though - unfortunately the bath tub was a bit too short to be really comfortable. But that would be my only minor complaint. All the fixtures are brand new, the furniture looks good and moderately stylish, the bed was perfect, the sheets new and soft. The hotel is quiet and clean and offers a good free wi-fi service. On the second floor (where my room was located) you can admire a huge collection of terrible "real paint" Van Gogh reproductions - so far over the top that it becomes funny. :-)
Very friendly service at the reception, extremely friendly and helpful at breakfast. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've had in this class of hotels: lots of choice and very fresh, top quality ingredients. At 16€ it is too expensive though (which is the main reason I'm giving 4 instead of 5 stars). But I paid only 75€ for single occupancy of a double room, and for this price I'd wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Chariot.

(The restaurant adjacent to the hotel I wouldn't recommend. It was presented to me as the hotel restaurant, but I couldn't charge the meal to my hotel bill. All main dishes are over 20 euros, and my more modest French onion soup was just ok, while my so-called Caesar's salad must have been the only one in the world without chicken.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a disappointment. We were embarrassed to stay there.
Hotel Taxi 24-hour pick-up didn come after all , even though the Hotel
said to pick up us in 15 minutes.
it was really hard to have been kept waiting outside the cold airport
at 10 pm at a waiting place standing for 1hour .
I had a confirmation phone call to the hotel many times, but in the voice mail, it was not connected at all.
After all, I went to the hotel by taxi of the airport.
There was no word of apology from Front desk lady (men sitting in the back was laughing)
though they returned the taxi fare.
Shower room musty, poor amenities.
Next day, you return to the hotel, hair was attached to the shower
curtain and bathtub dispite left tips on the pillow.

I inquired to the hotel with respect to these matters,
Reply came from the service manager more than 2 weeks later.
He wrote "Because the summer time is a very busy period for us, this can
happen sometime"

We recommend everyone never to have an accomodation here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We needed a place for 3 persons, close to the airport and for one night only. This place offered transport (for a minimal fee) to and from the airport. It was quite cute and charming. The hotel is small, and the room was large enough and comfortable for 3 persons who were not planning to stay in the room much. The neighborhood is very "Holland" and is residential. There is a restaurant downstairs and one directly across the street. If you're in for a walk (maybe 1 to 1.5 mi) there is an Italian restaurant nearby. This restaurant was closed when were there. WI-FI was sketchy in the room, but available in lobby. The room was clean. The dutch people are awesome friendly. We would stay there again, but it is off the beaten path from the center of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We took this hotel for its park-and-fly services: you can stay at the hotel and transport to and from the airport is included. Your car is under surveillance parked in a parkinglot. Our stay was short because we had to leave at 03:00 to the airport. The room was excellent but unfortunately the air conditioning was not working. They couldn't fix it until the next day (no 24/7 service-agreement?) The jacuzzi wasn't functioning either so our holiday didn't start well. The girl from the reception couldn't help us either and had no knowledge of how to coop with the situation. All she could say is'I don't know and the manager is not around'. After having a talk with the manager several hours later we received a small refund since the hotel couldn't deliver the services we paid for.
I can still recommend this hotel because of its location and rooms. It's an old building beautifully renovated and price worthy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had an overnight stay before a long flight and I'd chosen the hotel for it's proximity to the airport. We had a junior suite which was a lovely room looking out over what looked like a part of the Dutch countryside. We had dinner on the outside verandah and breakfast inside the next day, both good value for the money and a good choice of food. The shuttle to and from the airport was very cheap and convenient. There are many canals nearby worth exploring.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from 3 day hol & stayed at hotel, was unsure as usual stay in up market chain hotels. Not a problem, rooms was good, well appointed and clean. Had one meal which was good and the location was fantastic in suburbs of airport but semi-country atmosphere. We did hire car to explore and would recommend although they do have shuttle service to airport.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chariot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chariot

Address: Oosteinderweg 243 | 1432 AT Aalsmeer, 1432 Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Aalsmeer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aalsmeer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chariot 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute car drive from Schiphol Airport. Hotel Chariot offers a variety of rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has a 24-hour connection with the terminal of the airport and the trainstation. The restaurant is well-known for its quality coffee and grill specialities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chariot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chariot Hotel Aalsmeer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chariot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.