We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive when they open, plan to walk a lot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aalsmeer Flower Auction (Bloemenveiling Aalsmeer)

Aalsmeer Flower Auction (Bloemenveiling Aalsmeer)
Legmeerdijk 313, Postbus 1000, 1430 Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Aalsmeer
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Louisville
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Arrive when they open, plan to walk a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

One is stunned when entering this building, at the vast size of it. I just don’t even know how to describe it adequately! It’s an amazing beehive of activity below the catwalk, with motorized carts pulling long trolleys of flowers of every kind all over the place. You know that there is a system to it, but it is impenetrable to a visitor’s eyes! Cautions: It is absolutely worthwhile to arrive at the visitor parking no later than 6:45 am. Once parked, you still have a long way to walk around to the entrance (6
Euro entry), and then a very long walk the length of the building. Even by 7:15 or 7:20, the seemingly frantic activity below us was slowing. The auction rooms are at the end of the catwalk, and then you have to walk all the way back along the other side of the catwalk. There is a breakfast café and small gift shop at the exit; we did not realize in time that it was possible to order some kind of hot food. Having seen this, I will never again look at cut flowers the same way!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“never seen something as impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We like flowers but we have NEVER seen so many flowers in one morning.

The operations (and I am a senior consultant professionally) are something never seen.
21 milion flowers and plants are moved EVERY SINGLE DAY from fridges to the auction floor and then to the transportation platforms to be delivered to customers all over the world but mainly Europe.
The best comparison of what you see on the floor (the second largest commercial building of the world after the production hall of Boeing) is an ant nest, a ballet of electric vehicles (780 of them) moving flowers from one spot to another.
We were very impressed... and our guide was very professional. Really worth the 6€ entrance fee.
Only min - you have to be there (very) early.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It's impressive to hear the statistics of this place, but there is nothing to actually see. Visitors walk around a giant warehouse on a catwalk, from which you can only see crates of flowers, most of which are in boxes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“One of a kind experience, Mesmerizing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in Haarlem to be in a convenient location to take the bus to Aalsmeer at about 6:30 am. We had to travel on the #175 bus to transfer to the #172 bus to Aalsmeer at Amstel Station. The auction experience is amazing. The ticket lines ran smoothly if you can get around the tour groups. You go upstairs to traverse overhead walk ways over the immense warehouse floor filled with moving carts and trains of flowers. There are plaques along the way that describe the process. The auction itself takes place at the end of the walkway. Dozens of buyers sit at computers in a theater seating room while carts of flowers glide before them. The overhead screens show photos of the flowers up for auction and describe how many are to be sold and who grew them, etc. Plaques interpret what is on the screens and how the auction works. Fabulous photos of brilliantly colored flowers. It's so interesting to find out how flower sellers get their products. There is a large cafeteria, a gift shop and restrooms that can have long lines when the tour groups come in.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wish I had known....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had some transportation issues and missed our connecting bus and had to walk. It's located in an industrial section near the airport and we spent a long time wandering around trying to find the entrance. Find the #170 bus; it drops you off at the corner down from the entrance. I was able to use my credit card (swipe, no chip) to pay the 6 euro fee. If you want to see the auction, get there early. By 10am it was over, but we were still able to walk around the elevated platform and watch as all the flowers we being preparred to ship. It was amazing to see the Wall Street of flowers and got some great pictures.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aalsmeer Flower Auction (Bloemenveiling Aalsmeer) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Zaandam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Aalsmeer Flower Auction (Bloemenveiling Aalsmeer)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalsmeer Flower Auction (Bloemenveiling Aalsmeer), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.