We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It puts the "kilimanjaro safaris" at Disney Animal Kingdom to shame.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beekse Bergen Safari Park

Beekse Bergen Safari Park
Beekse Bergen 31, Tilburg, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Attractions in Tilburg
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It puts the "kilimanjaro safaris" at Disney Animal Kingdom to shame.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This park is really amazing! This is truly a safari park. You can enjoy this Zoo-park in 2 different ways. One is to walk through it, the other by your own car. We liked both options. we went by car first. My kids were laughing and screaming in the car, because the animals were that close. The animals can walk alongside your car, like zebra's monkey's, giraffes. If there is a fence, it's still very close to the visitor. You 'll be like driving 5 meters from a elephant. You literally drive among the giraffes. you can stroke/touch them. they lick your car or sit on it. It was amazing. My kids couldn't believe what was happening. the "Kilimanjaro safaris" at disney, is compared to this not special at all. After the safari by car, we went by foot, like visiting a zoo. The park is beautiful, very spacious. You can almost touch the crocodiles and snakes. We had a lot of fun.
If you like animals, we really recommend this park!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    105
    18
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“kids holiday heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great points.
Holiday park 135 Jungalows (lodges) Static Caravans and Campsite and Marina on a large lake With a Water Park with white sand beaches,Amusement Park a also has indoor swimming pool with slides ect, Safari Park, Zoo, boat trips all free of charge when staying conditions apply,
You can also receive Extra card for several free admission and discount of 50-20% on other attractions. The Jungalows are clean and basic not like centre parks but much better value and more fun for the kids, There is a Mini Supermarket a restaurant the Africa Club with free Wifi overlooking the lake,a take away a children's theater and bar right behind so you can have a drink while watching the children.Our Jungalow was on the lake and close to the club and near a beach and playground all lodges are animal theme our was leopard lakeside lodges were the best. We had our three young grandchildren with us they loved it seven days not long enough, The safari park you can walk, drive, take a bus or a boat to see the animals we did one each day,You need good weather for the waterpark which we had but there is indoor pool with slides if needed.The staff were excellent very helpful and spoke good english We went to the Air Museum for a great day out and free of charge.We had nights out in Tilburg great restaurants and nightlife .
Not so good points.
Only one car allowed per jungalow you have to leave one a the reception a long way to walk approx 1 mile even though there was two parking spaces, people were over loading cars with 6 or more per car would be terrible in bad weather. All the entertainments were in dutch but not many British there but did not spoil it for us.Would we go again only with children i would recommend for families.
Tips.
Break the journey if driving from UK good road when you get out of the uk 250 motorway miles from dunkirk ferry fueled in Belgium 136 e per Lt

Asked Tripadvisor to list in accommodation but no response from them.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great holiday, camping on site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed for a week. Campsite good, mostly Dutch. Play land had a really nice large each, and slide into lake. Also good play area for kids. The safari park was excellent. Really big. Can walk, drive or go on boat. Very big enclosures for the animals. If you stay here - well worth bringing bikes, makes it a lot easier, as too far to walk to safari park. During whole week, we just went to play land & safari park, enough to keep us busy there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

first of all i will get the negatives out the way,check in was very busy we were not given any info in english and had to ask for a park map of our ready put up tent.the tent wasn't that clean but didn't complain.we were short of bed linnen so had to que for another 45mins.the park had had a rave the weekend before with 60,000 people rubbish everywhere ,but it was all cleaned up by yhe next day like it never happened.something to think about if you have young kids,don't know if its an annual thing.i did some research before traveling about the 6 park pass.it said that you get 50% off at a theme park in belgium called bobbejaanland,reception didn't know anything about this so asked them to check,didn't want to waste a journey.i was right wish i printed it off at home because the theme park didn't know either.so called the manager he held on to our passes so he could check,it was new no communication.the park was brilliant hardley any que's.the camp site was lovely duck and geese arriving every morning,very spacious between tents and vans ,not like in england.safari park was brilliant and the speeland beach was good too.i would say that the park was better for kids 11 and under loads to do for them but not much for my 14 and 16 yr girls but it was arealy good base.we went to aplace like go ape got 50% off but reception told us that it was free.but good price and a good 2hrs of fun for us all.we went to the free indoor water park that was good.the on site spar was resonable but went to local jumbo suppermarket for big shop.great for cycling around the park,take your bikes.best bit was a theme park called eiftling 8 miles away.go go go.bit expensive 32euro each but same as all theme parks in uk i guess.we were there from 10:30 am till 11 pm.didnt realise the park stayed open all nite,spectacular music around the park in evening with dancing and to top it all there was a stunning water display to lights and music so watch on utube its fab.so easy to get out of 4 mins then straight on to duel carrage way.our country is so way behind.this theme park was on par to disney paris you do need a whole day.the rollercoasters wer brill one going through the water.the worst bit was another free zoo on the card pass.i must state please dont go it was very disturbing the animals looked run down the polar bear was filthy the waters were filthy no one about the park looking after them.my girls came away upset so please dont take your children even though its free.we were all upset i know i can't change the planet bit beeksee bergen should take it off there list its a disgrace to there beautiful park. hope this hasnt put you off but its nice to read areview with the good and bad so you know what to expect,we all had a great time and would go back but if you can afford it have a caravan or take your own tent.the shower blocks and washing facilities were very good.oh i forgot to say free wifi at the safari club.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great day out for all ages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Forget your ideas of safari parks in the UK, this place is vast! As close as you could get to being on safari without actually going to Africa. We went as we happened to be staying at the campsite attached to it, we thought it would kill a couple of hours. We were there all day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beekse Bergen Safari Park also viewed

Kaatsheuvel, North Brabant Province
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
 
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Beekse Bergen Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beekse Bergen Safari Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.