We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...Kids Did Not Want to Leave.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Efteling Hotel

Save Saved
You added Efteling Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Efteling Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Horst 31, Kaatsheuvel 5171 RA, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kaatsheuvel
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent...Kids Did Not Want to Leave.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We upgraded to a larger room on arrival and stayed in the Wolf suite. It was definitely worth the upgrade. The children loved the room and we liked the larger size. Everything was clean and well maintained with a large bathroom. The menu in the restaurant was small but the food was good. The hotel is a two minute walk to the part and hotel guests use a separate entrance.

It is a little pricey but we highly recommend the hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
65
18
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We visited the park the previous year and decided to stay at the hotel this time. Due to our children's ages we got reduced rates on the rooms and when you add in the price of the park tickets that you get free when you stay it wasnt that extortionate. OK its more expensive then a travel lodge but its better than disney!!

My children (aged 5 and nearly 3) loved everything from the special footsteps to their own entrance to the park, the steps up to check in, the pull down step so they could reach the sink in the bathroom, the fairytale channel in the foyer, their own sized toilets in the foyer........this is a hotel which has been properly thought out and planned around children. And it was fully appreciated by the guests it was aimed at. My girls loved the 'characters' who came to their meal table and who took them them off for fairytales in dutch. When we arrived they were given parcels and gifts of kites and colouring books, another lovey touch.

I loved being able to buy souveniers and have them delivered back to the hotel instead of having to haul them round the park.

There are always niggles, the food in the retsaurant was expensive, but this year when we go we shall eat in the park.

So yes we are returning and the children are beside themselves at the thought (and we haven't told them that we have booked a suite this year)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

If you go to Efteling park, stay in this hotel. This is the best place to complete the journey to Efteling park. Great service. It seems not to be enough for 2 days to see all attractions in the park.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Efteling is a great atraction park and it is so pretty with all the flowers.
However, we were a bit disapointed with the hotel. Overall we had a great time but knowing the price you pay per night for a standard room, the rooms themselves are just too average. There are very few nice eftelling touches (only in the bathroom). I gave the hotel a low score on price-quality.
However, all other aspects of the hotel are very good:
-convenient parking (however when we arrived at noon there were no spots left to park but we were allowed to park in the "corridor")
- so great to just walk in and out the park to you hotel room (when we visited the park was open until midnight!)
- we had a great dinner (a la carte) with a very friendly service, and a very good breakfast


Another negative point is that the staff at the desk ruined the birthday surprise my husband had arranged for me by telling his surpise (extra guests for dinner) to us whereas she was aware that it was arranged for me as a surprise.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roenne, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

To wake up with Snowwhite at your breakfast table is not a dream. It happens. Especially for young children, it is a treat. Good Service, High price, but it is Priceless for what you get. Then the happyness continues as you walk into the "Efteling" where dreams keep you smiling all day long.

Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

This place is really great with small kids. You feel welcomed and accommodated, without it feeling over-sugared or over-done.

Benefits:

- Buffet style breakfast and dinner. (So you can be quick or slow as you like). I might have liked option of table service to avoid having to get up and down - but on balance I liked the flexibility).

-After a certain time a kids 'show' comes on with two girls dancing. They sing and chat in Dutch - but my kids were humming the songs all the way home. The kids go off into some ante-room, come back with some kind of costume, to some thing or other to show the parents - all while you get on with your own dinner. A nice compromise between 'on all the time' holidays and 'lock them up in kids club' .

-- The Efteling characters (Pardoes + Parljuis) come to visit. My (english) kids fell for it hook line and sinker.

-- Pretty much everyone has kids. So you feel relaxed. But not overun - the place 'works', so that while you might be overtaken by a sprinting toddler, you don;t seem to witness metdowns/ intrusive bad behaviour.

-- Evening storytime. This was in dutch, so a little beyond my kids (eldest 5 at the time) - but the entertainers did try to include them.

-- We stayed in the tower suite. It had a little curtained off sitting room with a view of the park where the adults could wind down at the end of the day.

-- A small gift shop, but no intrusive selling = no pestering. None of the disney-style 'temple to Mickey' shops.

-- i liked the bar! Friendly barman.

-- It was right next to the fantastic Efteling. Special entrance available.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Efteling theme park is great and if visiting this is the place to stay. It is more pricey than nearby alternatives but the ease of parking and visiting Efteling makes it really worthwhile. Not really being a Disney enthusiaist I was a little wary but was impressed by the whole Efteling experience.
We arrived earlier than planned (and recommended) but there were fine with that and we easily changed our pre-bought park tickets to a 2 day pass for not much extra cost. It was really worth it. The theme park is big with lots to do (for all ages and heights!) and so having the second day there was great. It also meant the kids knew which rides to go to first (you get into the park early if staying at the hotel) to avoid the queues!

The restaurant serves great food with a play area nearby once the children have finished. The breakfast choice was wide.
The room was on the small side but did accomodate the whole family (of 5) and it didn't really matter as we weren't in it for long.

Staff very good.
Overall if going to the park would really recommend the hotel too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Efteling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efteling Hotel

Also Known As:
Efteling Hotel Kaatsheuvel
Golden Tulip Kaatsheuvel
Address: Horst 31, Kaatsheuvel 5171 RA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Kaatsheuvel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kaatsheuvel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Efteling Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and HotelsNL so you can book your Efteling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Efteling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.