We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run-down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Benno

Save Saved
You added Hotel Benno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Benno
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilhelminaplein 9, 5611 Eindhoven, The Netherlands (Bergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Eindhoven
Brussels
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A bit run-down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

A very old building with a restaurant below and 2 floors of rooms on top. Situated in a small town square. Within 10 minutes walk of town centre. Reception is not always present. You have to walk into the restaurant to call someone. Rooms are relatively quiet. The rooms are of average size; some with downsloping ceiling; some with own toilet or only washbasin and shower. Toilet in passage available. Stairs leading to the rooms are very very steep and narrow; no lifts.The floor of the hotel has old dirty carpeting; there is a musty smell throughout the hotel. Rooms have wooden floors. Wifi is free, but doesn't work. You can connect to offsite wifi. Bed is okay; a bit soft. Nice towels and toiletries provided. Breakfast acceptable - muesli, bread, cheese, ham, hard-boiled eggs. Coffee is poured by the hostess into your cup. You have to ask each time to fill up your cup. Room price is a bit high for a two star hotel.

Room Tip: Nice room view over town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
1
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It's a small hotel but very neat and clean. Staff is very helpful and gentle! It's close to all amenities and only 8 minutes away from the shopping malls. I highly reccommend it, especially to solo travellers, couples or friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very good location of the hotel, at the city center but quite, close to the stores convenient for for shopping. The hotel is simple, but very cosy atmosphere. Rooms after renovation very clean and warm. Friendly staff and owner ))
The restaurant offer delicious food, many people like to come for diner especially here. Our group were staying in the Benno hotel for 3 nights, we loved to have dinner in the restaurant every night. Next time we will stay only here.

Room Tip: if the is an event on the square and you want to go sleep earlier, chose rooms from another side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Only good thing was the location. Room was dirty, carpet had stains, dust everwhere, 1 dim light working in the room so you couldn't see a thing, radiator hanging off the wall, 1 of the twin beds was falling apart, there was no hair dryer in the box in the room, blood stain on one of the pillows. Totally disgusting! We were overcharged by €17.50 as to the price charged on booking.com and they refused to refund us. The staff are rude and incapable. On arrival they couldn't find our booking luckily I had the booking form. The took 3 nights payment but we had problems with our key card as they put the dates in wrong. We were locked out till thge early hours of the morning and had to ring the manager who arrived about 40 mins later to tell us our booking was wrong and would not permit us entry to the room and left us waiting around for about another hour. He finally realised we were in the right as we had our receipt of payment and blamed it on faulty technology and gave no apology. Disgraceful never stay here. Do not give the benefit of the doubt to these people like I did. Do believe the bad reviews. Everyone can't be wrong.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The only good thing about hotel is that it is close to the city centre and train station and that is really where the good points stop. I stayed October 2013 and can safely say I would never stay again. Never any staff available if you require assistance if you need anything you have to go into the restaurant next door as that is where the staff are. I had no electricity in my room which took around 14hrs to be sorted as there was no staff around to tell them. The room was as basic as you could get. Wi-Fi was about the only thing that worked and that was when the electricity went back on. The light fittings in my room were hanging off the wall and bulbs blown. The hotel was overpriced and photos very deceiving.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bit of privacy ask for a room with your own toilet and shower as most rooms have sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Bienno is very close to the center and to the train station. It's strong points are indeed the position and the staff, which is open and friendly. Unluckily, there is no bathroom in the rooms (except for a little sink) and taking a shower is thus tricky. If you're on a tight budget, up for some compromises and need only to stay one or two nights, Hotel Benno is probably the best place in town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012. My room was very small, i understood it had a shared bathroom but did not realise i would have to go down to the floor below to use the toilet in the middle of the night. I had a 2 night stay here and would not stay again. Definately overpriced. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Benno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benno

Address: Wilhelminaplein 9, 5611 Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Benno 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Benno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Benno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.