We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Karpendonkse Hoeve

De Karpendonkse Hoeve
Sumatralaan 3, 5631 AA Eindhoven, The Netherlands
040-2813663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 216 restaurants in Eindhoven
Price range: $61 - $115
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We knew this restaurant from two earlier visits (2004 dinner and 2009 lunch) and again had high expectations.
We had a 9-course ‘tasting’ menu (proeverij). The pace of the courses was fine, the explanation of the courses was professional and the staff was friendly and pleasant.
The fact that my messmate asked for fish-alternatives was no problem at all and well followed up.
The size of the portions was good: you are not filled too much after nine small courses.

Although the food was good, well cooked, professional service and good ambiance, we were missing something. We wonder if this has to do with the redecoration, which was less cosy than before. It also might has to do with our high expectations.
We paid euro 99 in advance for a voucher for the 9-courses for two persons, and euro 35 for drinks and tea (with lovely friandises).

If you can enjoy really good food, this is definitely a place to visit once in your life.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    27
    25
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“nice & quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was a warm and very sunny day, so we could enjoyed the lunch to which we were invited for on the terrace. The restaurant is surrounded by a nice and quite public parc, even when you see people passing by you still can enjoy your meal in piece. A disadvantage of sitting outside are the flying bugs, in this case the wasps, but we could live with it.
The lunch was very good. Service is very nice, polite, formal but then again not too formal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

on a beautiful location, this is my point of view the best michelan star restaurant in the region. Either for a romantic dinner or for a business meeting, it is always a good choice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After purchasing a deal on groupon we went with friends to this restaurant in April 2013. From the outside you would not guess that a lovely restaurant is hidden inside.We had good weather and ended up sitting at a table with a view of the park and lake.
We had an eight course menu and I must admit it was a little too much for me in the end. The food was really good though and definitely looked pretty on the plate. I had the vegetarian menu and my husband and our friends had the normal menu which included dishes with fish, chicken and lamb. The vegetarian dishes definitely had an asparagus theme. My favourite part was the two dessert courses. We also had the accompanying wine menu and I found the selection to be ok, but not great and I regretted not selecting my own wine since they have an extensive wine list.
Unfortunately we had to rush a little towards the end of the evening but the staff were very accommodating and made sure we were able to leave on time. In fact the service was excellent.
Overall it was a very pleasant experience. Compared to other michelin star restaurants I found the food to be just OK, but compared to non-michelin star restaurants I definitely find it to be great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fine wining & dining, professional, driven and good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everything about the Karpendonkse Hoeve gives you that same vibe; the experience should be solid and good, whether from the food, the atmosphere or the service point of view. We have been so fortunate to have a number of experiences here, for both lunch and dinner - and we've only been consistently pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Karpendonkse Hoeve also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to De Karpendonkse Hoeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Karpendonkse Hoeve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.