We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed by food quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooks

Cooks
Kerkstraat 30, 5611 GK Eindhoven, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
040-2434114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 226 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Impressed by food quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

When you plan a casual diner in a cafe type restaurant you adapt expectations.
At Cooks we were blown away of the food quality and the good service. A mistake with the starter was more than compensated and the main course was excellent. ESP what they had done with the vegetables.
Enjoyed it obviously and will be back for another casual dinner

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    36
    20
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“All good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My girlfriend always prefers to go to this restaurant when we are in Eindhoven for shopping, so we went to Cooks for some food again.

I had not been here in a while but the dishes they served used to be good, but they now seemed to have upgraded them to something more culinary, so they not only taste great now, but also look great :)

We had a good table outside the restaurant, and during the last year, they transformed the kerkstraat in Eindhoven into a street without shops, just restaurants, which makes it a very cosy street to have a meal, especially when the weather allows you to sit outside.

The staff was really friendly and helpful, and even had a little present for our 3 year old daughter.

The parking that is nearby for this restaurant is the heuvelgallery parking, its only a small walk from there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Truly Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ate here recently when passing through Eindhoven. Not only were the staff extremely friendly, but the food was outstanding. We usually expect very little when we travel, hoping only to find a decent restaurant, but Cooks excelled on all fronts. If you are in Eindhoven, you simply must eat here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giussano, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting place but not too friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The waitress does not speak very good English and the day specials are written only in Dutch so I missed the asparagus dishes I was looking for.
The dinner was pleasant but not too quick, even if the restaurant was almost empty, and not exactly cheap. Not sure I will get back there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice food in pleasant informal atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visit Cooks on regular basis -usually on Fridays- because of the relaxed atmosphere and the fine tapas dishes at a reasonable price.

The restaurant offers a-la-card dishes and tapa's.
In all categories there are fish, meat and veggie options

We usually go for a 16 euro tapa menu consisting of 4 raciones of tapa-dishes that can be selected out of series of about 15.
Also for children there is plenty of choice.

Quality is generally very good.
The service by the waitresses is usually pleasantly informal

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooks also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Cooks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.