We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eindhoven, the place to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proeflokaal De Gaper

Proeflokaal De Gaper
Wilhelminaplein 5,, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 268 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Cuisines: Dutch
Restaurant details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eindhoven, the place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

visiting Eindhoven? You have to visit de Gaper. The bar is fantastic, great staff always good atmosphere.. one level up a great restaurant. Excellent...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place to drink.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

While walking around Eindhoven came across this place on Wilhelminaplein square. What a local full of character and very busy it was only late afternoon.Sat down and ordered a couple of Dutch beers place very friendly staff spot on a place you could relax in all night a must go.
Opening hours are.
Sunday-Thursday-16.00-01.00
Friday-Saturday-16.00-02.00

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
772 reviews 772 reviews
603 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“super friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

We had been recommended that we visit this little square in Eindhoven by the barman in THE O'SHEA'S IRISH PUB,the night before, so we walked out of MARKT,which was very near our hotel,cut down WILLAMSTRAAT and onto WILHEMMINA PLEIN (you can get busses 14 or 16 if you want,get's you very close ),were we found this wonderful pub.
We walked in and were warmly greeted by the barmaid ,we ordered drink's,which promptly arrived, served with a big bowl of nut's.
Beer was fantastic,really do enjoy HERTOG JAN,and the nut's were most appreciated, as we were both peckish.
Staff were really superb,giving us recommendations and directions to other pub's and bar's of interest, a really nice touch.
It's a beautiful pub,we love art deco design, and the outside seating area would be very inviting on a warm summer day.
This is a nice area for pub's and restaurant's and most certainly worth a visit,we will definitely returning to this area and this pub in particular on our next visit to Eindhoven.
Opening hour's are;
Sunday to Thursday,4pm till 1am .
Friday & Saturday,4pm till 2am.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tried to use bathroom but got sent away (after spending afternoon there)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I tried to use the bathroom here on Kings day. This is a National holiday and it is always very busy at the Wilhelminaplein during this day. Part of the Kings day tradition is the free market which means you can sell stuff or raise money without the permit you normally need to sell stuff or raise money on the streets.
At the bathrooms there was a guy with a sign saying that he was collecting money for orphan kids. My boyfriend had my wallet so I could not give him any money and I explained that to him. It looked like he was just sitting there to raise money, but then he said I had to pay him money otherwise I wouldn't be allowed to use the bathroom. this lead to an unpleasant discussion resulting in me getting sent away: "If you want to use a bathroom for free go to another bar". We were there the whole afternoon having spent a lot of money on drinks and I was not allowed to use the bathroom!
I am sure it was a misunderstanding, and I do not know if the guy is part of the usual staff but I am not planning on ever going back there either for food or drinks. The guy made me feel like I committed a crime and I left feeling upset and angry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proeflokaal De Gaper also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Proeflokaal De Gaper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proeflokaal De Gaper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.