We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smeagol

Smeagol
Kerkstraat 10, 5611 GJ Eindhoven, The Netherlands
+31(0)407370298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 250 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Sat outside in the evening, the steak was a little fatty but tasted fantastic with the garlic sauce, a nice meal with friends and overall a good evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    28
    29
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good steak, but wine would be nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Food here is very good, especially steaks and fajitas. But there is no licence, so if you need a beer or wine best go eslewhere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nothing special about this place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

When you say you have the best steak in town, you better be sure about it..

I tried this place with a friend because they advertise about having the best steak in town, but the meat they served me here was only just good/ok, really nothing special.

What really would have completed the steak would have been a very good glass of red wine, but they do not serve alcohol here.

We had one very friendly waitress and other one that was quite grumpy, so the service gave me a mixed feeling as well :)

The place looks and feels clean, and it's all brand new inside, nothing wrong there ..

After my visit, I still have the same top 3 restaurants in Eindhoven for my steaks :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Literally overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Decided to check out "the best" steakhouse in Eindhoven". Having had the opportunity to taste a lot of different cuts, different qualities and different breeds, I have rather a high standard (read: spoiled rotten)

The place looks nice and clean and we had a very nice waitress. I decided to go for the 400 grams rib eye. My friend decided to go for equal sized entrecôte. Mine medium rare, his medium. Unfortunately no wine (but we knew this).

The steak was served on a non-heated plate, too bad, especially when ordering a big cut. My Rib Eye was definitely not the best cut, with a lot of difference in flavor, a small piece just barely being cooked medium rare and a lot of fat. Not the best steak I had (definitely in Eindhoven), a good glass of wine could have done a bit to make this right.

When advertising with the best steak in town, live up to it. Don't serve poor cuts, you could even come over and show the cut before cooking to show you really are going for quality.

I definitely get the feeling that all the 5-star ratings from people with 1 post are either friends of the owner or bought ratings.

An okay restaurant for an okay price, not the best steaks in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The best steakhouse ever. It was deliciuos the steak was perfect baked. It's wonderfull i like Smeagol restaurant very much. Kisses and regards

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smeagol also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Smeagol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smeagol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.