We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and homely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre

Save Saved
You added Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratumsedijk 23d, Eindhoven 5611 NA, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in Eindhoven
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice and homely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

The Hampshire Sandton Hotel in Eindhoven is located at the city center just a bit further away from the pub street. The streets are lively on the weekends. My wife and me stayed there during the time of the new year and we really enjoyed our stay. The front desk is very helpful and fast with check ins and arranging for cabs etc. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful with a restaurant that plays awesome music and a fake fireplace in position. The rooms are big enough with a king size bed in each room and necessary amenities. The bathroom was a disappointment because of its compactness. It was very small and lacked a bathtub as could be expected from a four star hotel. You can get a cheap deal at this hotel if you book early as we did. There is provision for wireless internet connection as it is a T-mobile hotspot. They also have a few PCs at their business center which can also be used during off peak hours.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the front desk
  • Disliked — Too cramped washrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
31
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Just stayed here for 1 night, we booked 2 rooms for 3 people. The room I stayed in was small, there were stains on walls and both chairs, not tiny stains but larger ones....Shame! In the bathroom the showercabindoor was broken, the soapdispenser wans't working and there was only a small amount of water coming out of the shower itself....Bathroom was clean though, better than the room itself!
Bed was clean, although the other 2 of my party had to switch rooms since one of the beds was not cleand at all before we arrived. But, the bed slept great!
Service was much better value than the cleanliness, attentive people staffing the front desk.
All in all, good location, good service, but poorly cleaned rooms with stains all over. If you're there just for sleeping and showering for a few nights, it's ok, especially if you find a good deal on what to pay for it, but otherwise wouldn't recommend it. In my opinion it is not fullfilling their claim to be a 3-star-deluxe hotel, so beware....

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

'Used' this hotel on a stag trip - clean but small rooms (with beds to suit), very well located for getting boozed up and the rest. Good breakfast that serves fairly late - went down after 11 and was still welcomed to the buffet. The hotel is right at the start of a strip of bars so if I was looking for peace and quite and wouldn't come next to near it (the place across the road is piping out bangin' tunes till after 4am). The night porter has little big man disease but besides that I can't knock it.

Stayed April 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

A small and cute boutique hotel in the city centre and close to all amenities. I loved the breakfast room, which it was more like a trendy little coffee shop and provided everything we needed. Hot chocolate wasn't included though!
Bars, restaurants and clubs are just around the corner and there is free off street parking across the road of the hotel.
I booked this hotel via a website I found after some research for under £60 per night, bargain!
The twin room wasn't very big, but very comfortable with a big shower room. The triple rooms looked very large. We loved our stay there and we would definitely return next year!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

The room was expensive, but merely average (but that might be the way it is with all hotels in Holland). Room had no air conditioning or fridge, and the hotel had no public ice machine. Although there was a wireless access point called 'Sandton', guests have to use a rather expensive T-Mobile connection to use the internet.

What really bothered me though was that when I went to check out, I was handed a bill for city tax and minibar. I never touched the minibar (which wasn't even in the room, but in the lobby) and the charge was negated without question. The hotel was firm on charging the city tax however. I booked this hotel through Expedia and I have *never* had to pay an additional tax/charge when staying at a hotel before (the Expedia billing page when paying for the hotel even says it includes taxes). I complained to Expedia about this, but they were quite useless about it, saying basically that hotels can charge whatever they want. When I went to review the hotel on the Expedia site they also kept deleting my negative reviews.

I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Disliked — Paying hidden fees
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I booked in to this hotel on Sunday and was told that i could stay for the 10days that i had booked as origanally i was on the wait list for one of the nights as the hotel was busy. When i checked this the following day i was told by the receptionist that i would have to check out one night and come back the next. I decided that if a hotel could treat me like that by moving me for one night i would find a hotel that would accomadate my needs (Hoilday inn). The staff do not know what they are doing and i have recomended to our company that we look for an alternative hotel for our business needs. To get to the so called 'Comform suites' you have to pass through tyhe confrence room, Great if someone is using this at teh time. The hotel was noisy as it is very close to the main bar area of Eindhoven. Great place to stay for Stag and Hen weekends but nothing else.

  • Liked — Close to bar area
  • Disliked — Small rooms and the way staff under value your custom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

At the second day, someone came into our room and took my money and the money from the purse of my wife, around 400 EUR was steal.
The manager of the hotel didn't do nothing, and at the last night it was so mad that they made me pay the city taxes after i was rob at this hotel.
Very bad service, no cleaning rooms.

The worst hotel i 've ever been in Europe. Take care with your money in it.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre

Address: Stratumsedijk 23d, Eindhoven 5611 NA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-star deluxe hotel with 25 classic rooms, 15 comfort rooms, 23 deluxe (air conditioning) and 12 suites. The hotel is located in the centre of Eindhoven and has its own parking garage (€12,00 per night), a bar/lounge and 6 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Sandton Hotel Eindhoven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.