We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eindhoven downtown choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratumsedijk 23d, 5611 NA Eindhoven, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Eindhoven
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Eindhoven downtown choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice place, close to the historic downtown of Windhoven, and close to the party places. The staff is excellent, the room is clean. Breakfast is OK, offering a great variety of hot meals (scrambled egg, baked bean, fried bacon) and cold meals.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eind5611, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear mr. Toth,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the city of Eindhoven. Hopefully we may welcome you back again.

With kind regards,

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    40
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
53
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I booked this hotel from 9th March 2015 to 14th March 2015 through booking.com. The room booked was "Double Deluxe Room" at Euro 105/ night without breakfast.

However, during check-in I was given Room 405 (single bed under stairway with absolutely no amenities in the room except for a cramped single bed).

I was told by the lady (Ms Janine) who checked me in – that this is a upgrade because they are overbooked and they cannot give me the room I booked.

The room, however, was a significant downgrade that I had to endure during the entire stay of 5 days.

If the room was downgraded because of unavailability or for whatever reason – the minimum one would expect is that at least it would be charged at the level of the room and not the level of booking (which was much higher at Deluxe Double Room).

I was shocked when the gentleman (Mr Aron) charged me the full Euro 522 + Euro 80 (for 5 days breakfast). He simply refused to charge me for downgraded room and charged for the much higher room.

I brought this matter to the attention of Mr Marc van den Broek - who is the director/ general manager of the hotel. He too maintained the same stand that while they are at the liberty to change the room and give me any room (significant downgrade) they are also at the liberty to charge the amount as per the original booking (significantly overcharged).

This is a Hotel of the cheats. Please be WARNED!

Room Tip: There is no guarantee that what you book is what you'll get. BEST to AVOID THIS HOTEL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardone Val Trompia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We received welcome from a very kind guy from the staff and during the afternoon there was the possibility to have a snack with coffee and tea or later with some sittle piece of good dutch cheese. Wow, that reception at the ground floor with those sofa was very relaxing. The hotel is really near the centre and 10 minutes from the station. I really suggest it.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton040, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for the recommendation of our hotel and compliments about my staff. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Lounge area and the complimentary Afternoon Coffee and Pre-Dinner Snack. Hopefully we may welcome you back sometime.

With kind regards,

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

I am very pleased with my stay in this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful with everything we asked for and the rooms were clean,big and comfortable. The location is excellent, very central, you can go anywhere on foot.
Only two remarks. First, single matrasses should not be put to make a double bed, it is quite inconvenient. Second, guests should be informed of the city tax before it is time to pay for the stay and not at that time. It is rude to learn last minute that you have to pay nearly 40 euros city tax! Other than that, I have no complaints concerning the hotel itself

Room Tip: be aware of city tax
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

This hotel is just a ten minute walk from the bus station and right in the heart of everything. We stayed here for 3 nights & would highly recommend it. The staff were very helpful & had perfect english.Our room was big spacious & spotless, with comfy bed & lovely soft pillows , also tea/coffee making facilities . Buffet breakfast was included & very good choices. This is mainly a business hotel, lively with tourists Friday night & Saturday. They do a lovely "High Wine" from 4 o'clock until 9 o'clock every evening, It costs €15 per person & is really something different.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I stayed in this hotel, on a long stay room, for 11 nights, very good service, very clean, and with an excellent location.

The hotel is located in the Stratumsedijk Street, close to the Van Abbemuseum, and a block away from where all the restaurants, bars and stores of the city center starts, so you will only need to walk a Little bit and you will be in the very center of the city.

You have the option for breakfast, woth it, is a very nice buffet, that includes wide option of bread, cheese, ham, bacon, eggs, yogurt, milk, juices, fruits, cereal, you have a lot to chose.

The rooms are really quiet.

There is parking available and free WiFi.

I wont hesitate to stay again in this hotel.

I would like to thanks Olga and Janine, these girls did an excellent job.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you so mucht for this great review! I already thanked Olga en Janine for their great service. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We stayed a night here while travelling east west along the A34 motorway. Eindhoven is not really a tourist destination it has to be said, but makes a useful stop off point on a long distance trip such as ours. The town has plenty of shopping, eating and access into town from the A34 is fast and hassle free, a plus in an area with significant traffic issues. The hotel has a parking garage accessed from beside the main entrance. Check in was friendly and efficient, the room was of a good size, wifi was free, fast and without login hassles. Breakfast was excellent. Recommended for business or leisure travel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet, might not be so good if facing the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. I hope you had a pleasant trip. As you mentioned Eindhoven is not known as a tourist destination. However we have some real hidden gems here. The city was rewarded as Best City Centre of the Netherlands in 2012 and 2013, a real shopping heaven. We have the world famous Van Abbe Museum, Strijp-S and the Philips Museum and are well known for its Design, Light and Sport events. next year we are in the center of The Van Gogh Year with Nuenen only 5 minutes away from Eindhoven. So we are looking forward to welcome you back so that you will be able to enjoy our city.

sincerely

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre

Address: Stratumsedijk 23d, 5611 NA Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-star deluxe hotel with 25 classic rooms, 15 comfort rooms, 23 deluxe (air conditioning) and 12 suites. The hotel is located in the centre of Eindhoven and has its own parking garage (€12,00 per night), a bar/lounge and 6 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Sandton Hotel Eindhoven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.