We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre

Save Saved
You added Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratumsedijk 23d, 5611 NA Eindhoven, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in Eindhoven
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mixed bag experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a convention for 4 days. Let me start with the good points:
- Friendly staff
- good breakfast with very good jam, as stated in a previous review (the 1 service lady is always quick and has the place better under control than whole teams in other hotels. Also, she seems born happy and friendly :D. Big compliments to her). Just one improvement suggestion: Put on little signs to tell me which jam is which, which yoghurt is which and so on.
- relatively central location
- good price compared to other EHV hotels
- one of the best pillows I ever had in hotel

Now the not so good points:
- my room was not properly clean on day 1 (hairs in the sink, dirty carpet). The following days it was properly cleaned.
- when I arrived it was very cold. They did not have the heating turned on in the room. The hearing did its job properly, once turned on.
- my room felt like a youth hostel. Very basic, small, cheap .. there are hotels with much better rooms for that price, but they are not that central
- relatively slow internet (perhaps I was almost at the end of the hallway?)
- I stayed in the front and there it is rather noisy (even with closed windows) and over the week I woke up several times each night due to cars, scooters or people
- my bed needed a matrass replacement

Room Tip: I would suggest to either go in the back or very high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eind5611, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We hope that you enjoyed GLOW the International Light Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
35
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

the hotel is located in the city centre, but still not in the loudest part of it. We have stayed in short term apartment at the back of the hotel. The room was equipped quite well, there was a small kitchenette was more for breakfast and lunch and dinner cooking. However we were vey pleased with a room. It would be better if there was enough attention to service. Everybody was very polite and friendly, but it is not what makes service outstanding. It is placing yourself in a customer shoes and trying to make him as comfortable as possible. On the first evening it was noticed by hotel staff that the bulb was not working in the hallway, but through our 10 days stay, the bulb was not replaced. Than we have received letter with inventory list that we should have checked on our arrival. So I did, and first position 'armchairs' was already incorrect...Did one of armchairs disappear?? Did somebody steal it? Or maybe it is wrong list in a first place? I went to reception to solve the issue of and the lady behind reception question my ability to count or my sight as I apparently must have been missed out o 3rd armchair next to coffee table that I also could not see. Thankfully manger knew how to behave and he apologised for situation and promised that new inventory would be delivered. But it wasn't... My tip to hotel management: Please give up on inventory, if there is a glass broken it cost you less that 2 euro to replace it to ask your guest to check your inventory as we could have been potential thieves is not the most friendly welcome form the staff. If you decide to keep the list, please make sure you hand the right one. People at reception should know every room in such medium size hotel, where the widows, what is equipped in, and type of bed. I believe that's basic information that should be in a system to help them to their work. I would be looking forward to come back to see if my tips were taken into account.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review,

With your experiences we have been able to improve our processes. We have revised the inventory lists and changed all the policies to make sure that the check in is done properly.

Also we changed our maintennace procedures.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon so that we can show you our improvements.

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice overall for what I paid an good value overall Breakfast was extra but at €15 included cooker option and continental Buffett and eat as much ad you want and good quality and range of food and drinks Staff were very helpful and all spoke excellent English Unusual for this type of continental hotel room had tea and coffee making facilities a real plus however items were not replaced during my visit The toilet also operated on a self flush mechanism which was a little puzzling Location is in easy reach of city centre a short walk through pedestrian area however this is through a noisy club and pub street although it us possible to walk around this street once you know the area Overall I was very pleased with the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel position is absolutely a plus, at walkable distance from the center and very close to bus stop that link you to several sites in town.
The hotel is quite nice for the common spaces: reception area, breakfast room,... rooms are not as good as the common area. Carpet in the room does not look so clean.
The bed is quite confortable and the room can be turned to dark very well and you can sleep without any problem of lighting.
Breackfast is quite reach, jams are fantastic. You have a wide range of solutions both if you want a sweet or a salty breakfast.
Staff is very kind and available to solve you any problem.
We arrived quite early in the morning and even though the room was not yet available they allowed us to leave our laggage in a secured area and to exploit the common area in the hotel.
We stayed here for the European Master Swimming Championship taking place at the Pieter van den Hoogenband stadium and the choice has been after all a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Ginger T

Thank your for your review. I am please to inform you that this week we are starting to renew the carpets in the rooms and the hallways. We are looking forward tom welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sandton is located close to the nightlife center (Stratumseind) and shopping center of Eindhoven. It is a good no frills hotel.. This was our second stay in the hotel. The price of the breakfast is similar to other hotels, but you may prefer to have breakfast in one of the many restaurants nearby. The hotel has its own parking garage

Room Tip: In the late evening you may expect noise coming from Stratumseind, ask for a quiet room at the backs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. regarding our breakfast we offer two options. Our breakfast buffet for €15,00 or our express breakfast for €7,50 during weekdays.

Sincerely,

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here from 10th July 2013 for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised. From the warm, friendly welcome to the well-furnished room, I really can't say anything negative about this place. It's perfectly located being just a 5-minute walk to the action (City Centre) yet enough distance to muffle the evening drone of the happy locals as they enjoy the typical Southern Dutch way of socialising in the cafe's and bars rather than home.

If I was forced to pick a criticism I would say the pillows were a little too large and hard for my liking but that's a personal preference.

The price reflects exceptional value and breakfast was vast and varied. All-in-all, a real pleasure and I would proceed with confidence and enjoy Eindhoven from this perfect City-Centre retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Gizago

Thank you for your review. Did you know that during the fall the city of Eindhoven is hosting two major events . The Dutch Design Week and the intenational light festival GLOW. We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Sincerely

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel,Sandton, although small, kept upto my business trip promise, albiet a little delay in getting me a cab on the first day morning. Everyone speaks good English. Breakfast is modest. Rooms are fine, a little small, which is OK. English newspaper in the reception maybe a welcome add-on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear DCP14,

Thank you for your review. We have two types of rooms our comfort rooms and our Deluxe rooms wihich are spacious and feature airconditioning, coffe tea facilities and I pod docking station.

We are looking forward te welcome you back at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven

Sincerely,

Marc van den Broek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre

Address: Stratumsedijk 23d, 5611 NA Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-star deluxe hotel with 25 classic rooms, 15 comfort rooms, 23 deluxe (air conditioning) and 12 suites. The hotel is located in the centre of Eindhoven and has its own parking garage (€12,00 per night), a bar/lounge and 6 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Sandton Hotel Eindhoven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.