We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed I ever slept in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne to your Saves list
Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vestdijk 47, 5611 CA Eindhoven, The Netherlands (Formerly Sofitel Cocagne Eindhoven) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Eindhoven
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best bed I ever slept in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After a Ryanair flight from Porto to Eindhoven on New Year's Eve, we stayed at this hotel for that night on our way to Amsterdam. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Eindhoven central train station, which made it very convenient.
We had to wait a few minutes to do the check-in but we were then very well received by a young lady receptionist, Simone. She was very attentive and friendly and told us everything that was happening that night in the city of Eindhoven. Top class receptionist! Next day we also got in contact with the manager, Roger, and were pleased as well. Great staff!

The hotel is a little bit mazy (never been at a hotel before where you had to walk for about a minute from the check-in desk to the elevators), and very business-oriented, but we found it very good nonetheless. It has good facilities and design, free tea and coffee for everyone, as well as other nice perks. The pool is classy, but it could have a little more diversified offering on the spa front. We can't comment on the breakfast as it was really expensive, as commented here before.

The room we stayed in was big enough and the bed was a wonder. Best bed I slept in, no doubt. Big and very, very comfortable. The TV had some interesting hotel-related features. As for the air conditioner, we had no problem with it whatsoever.

Why not a 5-star rating? (1) There was some smell of cigarette smoke near the lobby, as there is a smoking room there. (2) Indoor heated pool was cooler than expected. (3) We had to pay a city tax of 7€ for one night that we had no idea about at the check-out time. Not the hotel's fault, but it should be included in the price beforehand.

We arrived at around 17h at Eindhoven and left in the morning, so we barely got to see the city in daylight. At night it started to rain a lot so we didn't get out as much as we would have liked. The city doesn't look like something special, but we can't really comment too much on that. It is basically a Philips city. Everywhere you look, there are Philips signs, the statues you see are from members of the Philips company, the trademark buildings are Philips and even the football club and its stadium are Philips.

Room Tip: At arrival, we were asked if we wanted to upgrade from the old part of the hotel to the new one for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    202
    22
    11
    13
See reviews for
59
232
53
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I see recent reviews complaining over the air conditioning. The A/C did not at all respond to the settings, and it was also impossible to turn off the fan which offered a breeze of air too cold for us.

We asked for one more featherbed ... right away. Right away means you have to complain a second time and then wait another four hours, six in total.
We got a heater put in there though. There was supposed to be a maintainance guy having a look at the A/C, but thanks to Tripadviso, I can tell that the issue was already well-known, and surely those “we'll fix it” assurances were just white lies.

And then the breakfast. Full in one room, but we were assured that the menu in the other was identical. I could check that this was not true. Again, why tell us lies?

And while at the breakfast: Isn't it very rude to ask a disabled person to remove her crutches?
Had no idea I would witness that attitude towards disabled persons in a presumed professional hotel in the Netherlands ...

... which also goes for the internet service. My usual internet newspapers blacklisteted as “sex education”. Sure you could find something like that in the a health section, but this is the most aggressive filtering I have ever seen – and in the once-considered-freeminded Netherlands. WTF?
(Besides, the internet service forces me to accept that they store my traffic for a year, at the same time as it promises to delete every piece of history at logout. Yeah, some of us actually read that stuff with fine print ... especially when we start to get annoyed.)

And I don't really mind the shower being visible (and audible!) from the bedroom, but ... the toilet?

I'll be returning to Eindhoven in a few months, and I have booked somewhere else. This hotel won't get a second chance.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Pullman Cocagne a few times, back to when it was the Dorint Cocagne. It's a nice modern hotel, it's just a bit quirky in how it's laid out. Take the wrong elevator or stairs, you'll never reach your room. Never deviate from your explain path to your room. I had a Superior Room, upgrade cost at check-in was reasonable, and it was worth it. Very modern room, reminded me of the high tech rooms of Cosmo Las Vegas. Bathroom was ALL GLASS, so not a "two straight guys" type of room, but otherwise a super modern room.
Breakfast is EXPENSIVE and not really special, typical of nicer euro hotels. Parking can be a pain, again, typical of euro hotel.
Location is great, right in city centre, so you have plenty of food, bars, and casino right across street.

Room Tip: Upgrade if offered at check in, was a reasonable price and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel because I used to stay there years ago and wanted to see if it had changed. I arrived late as I had to travel down from Amsterdam on the train. Went straight to the bar and managed to get a decent sandwich at 11pm which was a relief. The hotel is still great and the staff were helpful. The only downside was that I could not turn down the temperature in the room (as someone else has said.) I tried to sleep but by about 3am I resorted to opening the window which at least allowed me to get a couple of hours sleep before the morning noises. I didn't bother calling the front desk as I reasoned that even if they could have done something it would take some time and I was too tired. I would stay again but the problem with the air conditioning is somewhat off putting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne

Address: Vestdijk 47, 5611 CA Eindhoven, The Netherlands (Formerly Sofitel Cocagne Eindhoven)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eindhoven
#1 Family Hotel in Eindhoven
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eindhoven
#1 Luxury Hotel in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This business hotel offers 277 rooms and 43 apartments. Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne is situated in the city centre of Eindhoven, close to the main railway station and Eindhoven International Airport. Featuring Brasserie Bruegel, Bar Babylon, a fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and a beauty salon. Our hotel also offers 23 multifunctional meeting rooms for all your meetings and conferences. Wireless internet (WiFi) is available in the entire hotel. Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne is entirely non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne Hotel Eindhoven
Accor Cocagne Eindhoven
Sofitel Eindhoven
Eindhoven Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.