We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Eindhoven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Eindhoven to your Saves list
Mercure Eindhoven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leenderweg 80, 5615 AB Eindhoven, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Eindhoven
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good comfortable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a good location on one of the main roads into Eindhoven. The rooms are clean, the hotel is modern, and has its own secure carpark.

As a regular user of Accorhotels, this hotel I'd put on the borderline between Ibis and Mercure. It's nice but nothing too special.

When I stayed they were training a new receptionist who seemed to have problems and take an age to check-out customers in the morning.

Perfectly fine to use again and I would be happy to recommend to coworkers travelling on a budget.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    55
    51
    10
    1
See reviews for
18
42
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Good location, 20 mins walk to Eindhoven Centre and easy to get on to the Ring Road when arriving and travelling about. Some local restaurants on the door step and supermarket.
Stayed there for two nights, good breakfast and friendly bar in the evening.
Also off road parking at the back of the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I was disappointed with the hotel as did not meet Mercure standard yet was at Mercure prices!
The room was small, but claen.
The restaurant was also small but standard of food was disappointing - especially due to price.
However, the staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

As a traveler who spends >200 nights in hotels annually, I've gotten very picky about my choice of homes away from home. Although it's cheap, the Mercure Eindhoven (formerly the Pierre Amrath) doesn't pass the test.

Other hotels tried in town: Pullman, Holiday Inn, Mandarin Park Plaza, Boutique Hotel Lumiere, Van der Valk. This hotel was usually the cheapest of that lot, but if price is your primary concern, check the Van der Valk's rates first, and compare this to the 2 and 3 star hotels in town instead of the 4 stars. (The Novotel isn't that much more and it's that much better...)

This hotel was remodeled this year (prior to my stay). The decor is now up to 4-star standards, but you can't fix a building that was built for a 2-star hotel. Many finishing touches are missing that are customary for a 4-star.

The issues I had:

1. The mattresses were European-style, i.e. hard. As an American, I couldn't sleep comfortably, and checked out early as a result. The management said that they have replaced the mattresses in some rooms (not mine) - you might ask for one of those rooms if this is an issue to you.

2. The building construction isn't 4-star; it felt like 4-star decor in 2-star construction. The bathroom doors are cheap hollow core, trim is cheap, the A/C units are cheap, and my room was small even by European standards.

3. When they remodeled, they didn't replace the TVs with widescreens. They're still the old square tubes.

4. Free internet in the rooms is limited to 4x 15 minute windows to browse the Web. Can't check work e-mail over a VPN without paying a lot. More free internet is reportedly available in the lobby - but there isn't any room in the lobby...

5. I had a billing issue due to a trainee being the only person working the desk at 07:30 when I checked out. They proactively fixed it in a couple of days.

If these aren't issues for you and the price beats the others on the list above by more than EUR40,00, it's an OK place to stay.

I'd equate this property to one of the newer Comfort Inns in the U.S. Functional, but missing the details. (If I'd been able to sleep, I'd have given it a notch higher rating.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
226 hotel reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

An interesting hotel, in some ways excellent, in some ways frustrating.

PROS: very courteous and helpful staff, pleasant location in a quiet, mature residential neighborhood close to shopping, very attractive decor in rooms and common spaces. Free internet in lobby only. Free parking in compound with video oversight.

CONS: Very small rooms, tiny shower stalls (an average size American probably couldn't even fit, typically Mercure cheap (not even a bar of soap in the bathroom). No free internet - 16 Euro a day for access from rooms.

OVERALL: If you can book for a low price, fine, if you have to pay more than €70, go shopping for another hotel that offers more for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mercure Eindhoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eindhoven

Address: Leenderweg 80, 5615 AB Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eindhoven 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Eindhoven is a totaly renovated 4 star hotel near the city center, 2 km from rail station. The hotel has 60 rooms with all facilities as airconditioning, coffee and tea facilitiesa and free internet. You can enjoy a nice breakfast or dinner in our restaurant/bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Eindhoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Hotel Eindhoven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Eindhoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.