We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an out of the way base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton De Brug Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carlton De Brug Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton De Brug Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arkweg 3-17, 5731 PD Eindhoven, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Eindhoven
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an out of the way base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed for two nights here on a Newmarket holiday to see Andre Rieu in Maastricht. Very comfortable, clean hotel with a good restaurant and lovely staff. The location is not great but the sports and leisure facilities are a great bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and sharing your experiences with other travellers! Good to hear you enjoyed your stay in Mierlo. We hope to see you again at Carlton De Brug!

With kind regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    40
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
17
44
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hotel has all that it promised and more. Lovely swimming pool area and spa. Room large and modern, Did not eat here but found a nice cafe bar in the near by village. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking available at a cost, but worth it for security as we had a lot of stuff with us. Nice residential area. Would definitely stay here again if we came back this way .

Room Tip: Choice superior double room it seemed bigger than my friends double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this fantastic review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay at Carlton De Brug. We hope we can welcome you again in the future!

With kind regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Newmarket group attending the Andre Rieu Concert. Hotel very nice and in fact we were given room 202 (honeymoon suite!!!). Although could do with a drastic refurbishment it was a massive room with large en-suite. Breakfast very good but we had the 3course set evening meal and I was a little disappointed. Meal looked rather "messy" as if the chef had tried "too hard". Our only grip was not with the hotel but with Newmarket's allocation of supposedly "upgraded" concert tickets. We were allocated seats FIVE rows from the back which they classed as "upgraded" - a complete farce!!! We could not see the stage and had difficulty in seeing the screen. Very, very disappointed with Haymarket. Many, many people also very unhappy!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear sirs,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences at Carlton De Brug. Unfortunately your stay hasn't been to your complete satisfaction due to the fact that you were not happy with the seats at the André Rieu concert. We are very sorry to hear that. Your comment about the menu will be discussed with the chef.
We hope to welcome you again in the future, in a refurbished room!

With kind regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosnowiec, Polska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel has well-developed sporting facilities incl. fitness rooms, swimming pool, indoor sports ground, tennis and squash courts. Might be a good base to host football players or other sports teams. The staff was friendly and helpful. Large, airconditioned and clean rooms assure comfortable stay (soundproof walls, A/C, free WiFi). Decoration and furnishing in rooms and public areas (lobby, halls) look old and all solicit for remodelling. Bathroom with old-fashioned fixture (beamy washbowl and bathtub) which are still in good, fine condition. Stuffy and hot in corridors - better ventillation required, it won't be possible to stand inside a room without A/C turned on around the clock. Electric outlets falling off stained walls, old carpets and wallpapers. Very good breakfast with big variety of dishes incl. pancakes and omellets that can be prepared on a guest's request.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Andrzej S,

Thank you for posting your review. Good to hear you enjoyed the facilities. At the moment we are busy with renewal/renovation plans for the future. Hope to see you again to show you the difference!

Best kind regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed on a warm and busy weekend (Pinksteren in the Netherlands. Pool and spa area were brilliant for freshening up and relaxing after the heat of the day.
Staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean with free, easy to access wi-fi.
If you want to stay in a small town rather than the city, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Canmore,

Thank you for posting your positive review. I am happy to hear that you had a great stay at Carlton De Brug. Hope to see you again in the future!

With best regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here at this hotel on a group booking with AJA , fantastic weekend as always, staff are very good. I only have one complaint and that is about the beds, we were in room 309 and the beds had no support, I suffered with my back the next couple of days, maybe it's time to replace them. Although we stayed there for just two nights our stay was enjoyable as always.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Patricia,

Thank you very much for your good review. It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you for your next stay. We will discuss and solve your comment concerning the beds with our housekeeping. Sorry to hear this.

Have a nice evening and hope to see you soon!

Kins regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Now in the middle of a 2 week stay here. Cleaning of room is not great. There were bits on the floor when we arrived and the room wasn't vacuumed for at least 3 days. The layer of dust on the small table's base is still here, as are the bits near to the walls. The dust covered cobwebs between the bamboo in the restaurant have been there since we arrived, and under the coffee machine is dirty but on full view from the restaurants dining tables. The staff are generally welcoming and friendly. The De Brug Activ centre is a massive plus point for this hotel. It has indoor tennis courts, squash courts, pool, sauna and massive gym. The breakfast is good but apparently used to be better. (My partner stayed here 4-5 years ago). This hotel is NOT in Eindhoven. It is actually in a small village called Mierlo which is approx. 15KM from the centre. They do have bikes for hire if you want to explore on two wheels. The restaurant evening menu is small but interesting. We ate there for the first time last night and I had the Red Perch which was very good. My partner had the rather large schnitzel which wasn't. We will try it again though. It seems to be fairly quiet during the week but with lots of weekend visitors.

Room Tip: Top floor nice and quiet. First floor if you want direct access to the fitness centre or conference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Google Translation
Goede middag,

Dank voor de uitgebreide recensie betreft uw verblijf. Fijn te lezen dat u de ruime faciliteiten van ons hotel heeft kunnen waarderen. We liggen inderdaad iets van het centrum van Eindhoven af, maar er zijn veel mogelijkheden om snel daar te komen. We bieden inderdaad diverse arrangementen met de fiets aan.

Erg vervelend dat de schoonmaak niet naar wens is geweest. Ik heb de opmerkingen meegenomen naar onze Housekeeping Department en uitvoerig besproken. Hopelijk mogen we u nogmaals als gast verwelkomen.

Vriendelijke groet,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton De Brug Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton De Brug Hotel

Address: Arkweg 3-17, 5731 PD Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton De Brug Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton De Brug Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton De Brug Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.