We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Nice atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smalle Haven

Smalle Haven
Smalle Haven 2 - 14 | 5611EJ, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 249 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: An excellent find tucked away in central Eindhoven. No menu. Just get what is fresh and very good it is too. It's a shop too, selling all of it's fixtures and fittings.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food. Nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place with friends, and had a great night. No menu, you chose from ingredients in the display. Actually we let the chef put together a selection of fish, meat and vegetables for our table of four - and we were not disappointed.

Decor is eclectic. Service good and friendly.
We would go again, but for a night out with friends, rather than that special occasion.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Veldhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unique !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

In this restaurant there is no menu chart. You just look in the counter at the fresh food displayed there and make your choice.
The restaurants furniture is from the seventies which makes everybody feel happy and young.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant, and very good quality of the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of the best restaurant of Eindhoven in my personal opinion, The place is cosy and the food is of very good quality. The menu offers only a pair of variations every day, which you can order diectly to the chef. The service is relaxed (but if you go out for dinner I guess you shouldn't be in a hurry!) and the staff is quite friendly. The only downside is the price, a bit too high.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great food, funky venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at this trendy restaurant. The food was delicious...there were five of us and we were given a selection of food which was tasty & well presented. The service was slow but this is the Netherlands so it was no worse than anywhere else! The waiter had a sardonic style, so I can see why someone not used to it would interpret it as rude, but he was helpful to one of our group who was vegetarian, and friendly, so no complaints from us. I loved the eclectic collection of furniture, some of which was for sale & liked the funky ambiance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Rude staff with pretentious small amount of food: these you can expect for sure. When going to a designer restaurant I expected the food will be pricey, what I did not expect is very rude behavior and horrible cooking. Our evening was just ruined. While serving drinks, the waiter says: oh you really picked the farthest place to sit, didn't you?, because we were sitting at the corner. So please ask them beforehand what is the most convenient place to sit ACCORDING TO THEM.
That was just the tip of the iceberg. Two of our friends arrived a little late, when they asked for appetizers, the waiter refused to serve any. And then they messed up the order, our vegetarian order did not show up, when complained, the waiter starts shouting at us.
And to blow it all, the food was arrived after hours of waiting, and was really not worth the time or money, not a good portion and very bad cooking.
This was truly a 'one of a kind' experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smalle Haven also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Smalle Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smalle Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.