We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hidden charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Sala Thai

Restaurant Sala Thai
Staringstraat 31, 5615 HC Eindhoven, The Netherlands
040-243 41 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 249 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice hidden charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We ordered pad thai, because it is our favorite Thai dish, although there were many tempting items on the menu. Many of the entree choices are not ones I have had in American Thai restaurants. I was a little diappointed that there were not many vegetarian options. I had to specifically ask for my pad thai without meat. But when I asked for added vegies, they didn't understand. The only veg in the dish is green onion. The lack of veg options is the reason for the 4 stars, instead of 5.

When you arrive to the restaurant, the location in deceiving - it's in a residential neighborhood. Parking is tricky, but there is metered parking on the main street nearby. The atmosphere is very cozy, and I imagine when the weather is warm, the large windows that lead to the small patio would be nice. Overall, I might come back, especially for a nice business dinner.

WARNING - If you call for take-away, they will give you the address and number of their take-away service 2 blocks over. We tried to get food there once, but be warned: is it a premade limited menu, and the selection is deli-style. Once you select something, they will heat it in the microwave for you if you so request. It's a pity the restaurant doesn't offer a freshly made-to-order menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Eindhoven's best kept thai secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

HIdden away off the beaten path in the middle of a residential neighbourhood, this small restaurant is one of the best thai restaurants I visited. It's a small house, where quite a lot of tables have been put in 2 rooms, so note that you're sitting closely together with other people.

Pricing is a bit on the higher end (esp voor Thai), but on the other hand the food is very good!
Have visited several times, keep returning.

Recommended to make reservations, as they get packed on e.g. tuesdays as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Interesting location, in the middle of a residential area in Eindhoven, Sala Thai is a small cozy restaurant with excellent service and very delicious Thai food. The restaurant is clean and looking fairly new with nice decor, the atmosphere very nice. The tables allow enough room between guests and there is a small outdoor seating area as well.

The menu has a nice variety of salads, soups, starters and main courses and if you are into spicy Thai food, this is the place to be.

The service is excellent, knowledgeable and efficient. The food is promptly served and explained if necessary. Deliciously spicy, each dish still has its own flavors, it is not just a burn only. Of the dishes we ordered, all were very well prepared, none being too salty or too spicy or not spicy enough, we were very impressed with the quality of the food.

The prices are slightly higher than other Thai restaurants we have tried in NL, but the value is definitely there.

When in Eindhoven and in search of a good Thai restaurant, the Sala is definitely a hidden gem, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and dedicated service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

For a small place tucked away on a residential corner, this restaurant seems to be busy every evening of the week and for good reason --- its high standard of quality in the food they serve, the decor and their professionalism. Quiet and lovely room, nicely adorned with Thai art -- even when they are full, you can still hear only your own party's conversation/always a plus. The choices are both plentiful and authentic. Excellent shrimp and meat dishes, variety of mild and hot curries and a mean, perfectly seasoned pad thai. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Eindhoven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Just fab Thai food. And I know my Thai. Prices on the high side for Thai in general but OK for a special occasion. Room acoustics do not allow for quiet conversing. Could expand menu as some favorites and classic Thai items not there. But overall was genuinely pleased with our dinner. Will return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Sala Thai also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Restaurant Sala Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Sala Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.