We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disorganized cheap hostel, clean badly.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Woonhotel Eindhoven

Woonhotel Eindhoven
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woonhotel Eindhoven to your Saves list
Woonhotel Eindhoven
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Leenderweg 285, 5644 AG Eindhoven, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Eindhoven B&B and Inns
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,405 reviews 1,405 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
602 helpful votes 602 helpful votes
“A disorganized cheap hostel, clean badly.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I don't have a good memories of this hostel, to tell the truth after being in this hostel the choice of Woonhostel was a bit wrong.
First of all the location, far from the center but reachable by bus (about 15 minutes) but if you don't know the area is impossible to know how to get there, so the only solution was get a taxi.
Once he arrived outside the hostel I rang the bell door and no one showed up, I waited outside for about 30 minutes no one came to open up.
After making a phone call an attendant staff came to meet me because they had the reception in another place 300 meters away!
The room was simple, bare, not that great, I had a balcony that overlooked the backyard on the first floor, but outside was dirty.
Unfortunately I noticed that my sheets were not clean or had been washed badly, that sucks.
Bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stopped here on the way to Hanover for one night to break the journey. I was very pleased with the accommodation. The rooms were spotless with en suite. TV and fridge in the room, tea and coffee making facilities and a smoking area outside in the garden area. The Manager Frans was extremely helpful. They have been trying for the last year to change the name to the Lightotel. When you arrive if Frans is not there you have to call the number on the door to get the key-lock code to get into your room. The bar across the road will call them for you if you have difficulty. You. There are quite a few good bars locally but the town is only 10 minutes away.
A very pleasurable stay with lots of nice people locally. Great Value and courteous management.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Staff is not there. I got my keys by calling the house manager, and the received the code. The room was very basic, which, considering the price, was OK. However, the beds had dirty bed sheets and towels. It was absolutely disgusting.

Never ever will I stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in any other hotel are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

This is not a hotel. The service is terrible, the manager who handed me the keys (for a room in a house over 100m down the road) didn't have change at it wasn't possible to pay by creditcard. The room was tolerably clean, though the fridge wasn't. I found some tobacco on the dresser of this non-smoking hotel. The unsecured Wi-Fi access disabled the security of my laptop. The stairs are very narrow, which makes a rat trap of this hotel in case of a fire. The batteries of the remote control were almost empty. Fortunately I had my own towel with me, for the skimpy towel in the room definitely didn't suffice. I don't think this is value for money, for I have stayed in equally cheap places where I had my own bathroom, a breakfast buffet, all possible payment facilities (which are advertised as available on booking.com), room service, etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

First the check in is elsewhere than where you stay, smoking staff in front of you is not very welcoming. Verty dirty room, I stayed here before and it was a poor stay. This time the other hotels where I stay usually were booked. No service, the only positive things is that there is free internet (which makes me able to write this review). It is better to go to a hostel or the budgethotel in Eindhoven. I trully recommend travellers NOT to use this hotel and I will contact the websites like expedia, booking etc. to stop selling this hotel, it is bad for their reputation. I won't come back for sure !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

but still some value since the stay was very cheap.

I got breakfast in a plastic bag when I arrived.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I was warned that Woonhotel would be basic, but I am used to hosteling and the advertised pictures of the hotel rooms looked simple but clean, so I thought I could stick it out for a few days. It was a big mistake. Don't believe the pictures -- they are probably pictures of the property 10 years ago. Now everything is gray, run down, shabby, dirty, and broken.

This is NOT a hotel. Woonhotel owns a few old houses where they rent out individual rooms. It seems to be almost disused properties as the entire house is generally in a state of disrepair. It feels like something they're trying to make money from while waiting for the house to get sold (my house had a big For Sale sign in front of it). There was only 1 shower and 1 toilets for the entire house (around 9 bedrooms I think), which was old and filthy.

There is NO reception... actually, no staff at all it seems! You ring the bell at a house that supposedly is a reception. When I arrived a girl in her pajamas opened the door and promptly said check in was at 1. She didnt even bother to introduce herself and came from a bedroom across the entrance, so I wasn't sure sure if she lived there or was a guest. There were also a lot of people hanging out in the kitchen and they all seemed to be living there, but none of them tried to assist my checkin as a normal reception should.

On the upside, the room has a TV and fridge, and you get a private room for the same price as a hostel -- but if you can afford better, stay away from this hotel, otherwise, you will ruin your vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woonhotel Eindhoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woonhotel Eindhoven

Address: Leenderweg 285, 5644 AG Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Woonhotel Eindhoven 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woonhotel Eindhoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woonhotel Eindhoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.