We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sycamore to your Saves list
Sycamore
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Parklaan 36, 5613 BE Eindhoven, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Eindhoven B&B and Inns
Tula, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this b&b one night,room Bellucci,not bad but not so clean!hair in the bathroom and in the carpet,dust and the tray for the tea was dirty..dont want to talk about how dirty was the minibar!I arrived at 3 pm,in the web site I booked there was not check in time,I called the owner and he looked quite upset...he said was coming in half an hour,but someone(not him) open the door after an hour,we were waiting outside in the rain!he arrived and he was quite rude and the only thing he said was:"hi you are too early!"He did not believe me when I said that in my reservation there was not arrival time and he said the room was not clean...he sent us away because we could not stay in the house to wait for it.When finally entering in the room did not smell as fresh cleaned so...we had to pay everything in cash plus €3,5 per person..did not even checked our passport!after that he became quite friendly and nice and I even checked my email in the pc in the living room for free...what can I add?fortunately for him does not do this for living

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreBB, Eigenaar at Sycamore, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
This guest has absolutely overlooked our check-in time from 17h00 to 23h00, which has always been clearly stated by all our booking channels on their respective websites and which has not changed since the start of Sycamore. Furthermore we don’t understand why the guest literally states, that she waited in the rain….simply because there is a good shelter at the entrancedoor of Sycamore (as can be seen clearly on photos here at TripAdvisor).
Nevertheless we feel sorry for the guest and we can understand certain frustrations and it’s consequences (unfortunately also a biased and overly negative review….!).
But of course everybody can be mistaken at times. And for this reason we have implemented a solution now that makes check-in easily possible apart from the official check-in time.
With regard to hygiene visitors can simply convince themselves by taking a close look at the hygiene scores of Sycamore as shown in the other 8 reviews here on TripAdvisor : 3 x the maximum score of 5 dots, 4 x a score of 4 dots and 1 x ‘clean’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here during the Marathon Eindhoven 2013. The place is lovely and host very warm and helpful. Great location with a short walk (10 min) through a quiet and exclusive neighborhood to the train station and everything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Sycamore - Eindhoven, The Netherlands. Stayed at Sycamore for one night, the reasons that I spend one night at Sycamore are: A. Location B. Early flight from Eindhoven Airport. Sycamore is an old mansion in a stately avenue within 10 - 15 minutes walk from central station. The rooms are clean and with sufficient amenities, water boiler, Nespresso coffee maker, radio and alarmclock. In the common room you will find an computer to check your flight details or public transportation details. In the kitchen, also common use, you will find equipment to prepare your dinner and in the morning you will find your breakfast served ... The landlord offers all comfort you find in a good hotel and the cosiness you find at home ! Next time I have an early flight, I will definitly stay at Sycamore !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very enjoyable stay at Sycamore B&B. Great location. An easy walk to Eindhoven main railway station. And only a short walk from restaurants and shops. Beautiful peaceful road. Great back garden which Jeanne, our eight year old daughter, enjoyed.
Very spacious and airy. Warm friendly atmosphere. And Jos our host was very helpful.
Hope to stay here again. Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We spent one night here. The b&b is very nice and it's not far from the train station. It is also very clean and comfortable. It was nice to meet Mr Jos.
But we didn't like the fact the he made us pay 69€ + tourist taxes: total 86€, BUT he did not give us any receipt for payment. So, we're asking if the Netherlands' government will ever receive that extra "tax".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Comfortable, cosy B&B with very hospitable host. Nice place in Jugendstil architecture with matching interior, homely atmosphere. Within easy walking distance of city centre, train station, bike rent etc. Great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eindhoven hotels
Binnenstad
Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne
Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne
#1 of 23 in Eindhoven
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Holiday Inn Eindhoven
#9 of 23 in Eindhoven
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Boutique Hotel Glow
#4 of 23 in Eindhoven
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Eindhoven
#2 of 23 in Eindhoven
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore

Address: Parklaan 36, 5613 BE Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore is a splendid boutique-hotel established in a perfectly preserved mansion (a 1908 monument) with a beautiful garden. There is Free Parking and Free Wireless Internet! Sycamore is located very centrally in a very chique, wealthy green avenue ('the most prestigious in town') full of impressive sycamore trees. This green oasis with it's historic houses and picturesque canals is in the heart of town... At Sycamore guests can enjoy a superb stay, either in an exclusive studio/familyroom (for 2 adults + 2 children<18yrs) or in a beautiful double room. Theatres, museums, university, pubs, toprestaurants, mega-cinema and shopping malls are all within easy walking distance. Central Station is only 980m (in miles a bit more than half a mile) away. The university (TUE) is not much further. The tropical indoor swimming paradise 'Tongelreep' and prehistoric Open Air Museum take 10 minutes to reach by car. Near Eindhoven you can enjoy golf, hiking, biking, canoeing, etc. Sycamore offers Free Wireless Internet, TV/DVD, radio, Nespresso coffee, a huge and special tea selection, a library/study and a spacious but cozy kitchen with colonial furniture. There is an authentic wine cellar from which you can order a nice bottle if desired. Breakfast is served with bread, cheese, Spanish ham, different kinds of marmalade, cereal, fresh coffee (Nespresso), orange juice, different kinds of tea, milk, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sycamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.