We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Central Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Lumiere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Lumiere to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Lumiere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hooghuisstraat 31 A, 5611 GS Eindhoven, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Eindhoven
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Central Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Lovely hotel in very central area of Eindhoven. It was no more than five minutes walk to the restaurant stree and pubs. Room was good sized and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bakery just beside the hotel which serves breakfast (if you are on B&B). We just went down and picked up fresh juices and pastries and had breakfast in bed. Very good value for such a nice hotel in such a central location. Can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else if we return to Eindhoven.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    49
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
76
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

What else is there to say other than what's in the title?

I only spent one night here but that's all you need to know why this place is #1 in Eindhoven. The room has coffee/cocoa/tea facilities, a fridge, TV, and the most comfortable bed that I've ever slept on (and I've stayed in probably 100 hotels in my lifetime so far).

The reception desk even took the trouble to make an international call on my mobile and left a voicemail to inform me that I left my sunglasses in the room. Never mind that they're not even worth sending back home (I buy cheap sunglasses because I always lose them! ;) ...) - but the fact that they made a call shows that they care.

Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This hotel most definitely is a great find - although even the locals were puzzled when I mentioned where it is! It's tucked away in a quiet street in the heart of Eindhoven and at walking distance from the station. We stayed, with a baby, for one night over a weekend, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Having been warned that it may feel a little cramped with the baby bed in the room too, I actually found our room to be spacious, even with the extra bed! The bathroom was fabulous with a big bath and massive shower. All well kept and maintained. If you do stay be sure to make time for breakfast, which is served in the bakery next door. It's utterly delicious and there is so much choice, it would be a shame to miss it. I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Some times the Staff is everything, here you have a really nice hotel, not the most fancy or well equiped but what there is is great rooms, perfect location and always service minded personel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Firstly this is a hotel and should be listed by Trip Adviser as such.

Situated right at the heart of Eindhoven - walking distance to all the main areas of this interesting but not tourist centered city. Located in a pedestrianised shopping street and across the road from a secure underground car park (Hooghuis). Could be tricky to find by car but plan ahead and take a sat nav and you will be OK.

Reception staff were really friendly welcoming and helpful. Our room was large, modern, tastefully furnished with effective AC and free WiFi. No food or bar facilities although breakfast is served in a friendly high quality bakery next door.

Eindhoven was a good stop off between Germany and the Tunnel. Not a very distinctive city but plenty of restaurants and bars and an unbelievable Friday night on the market square where having eaten we spent a couple of hours with literally thousands of locals enjoying the early summer weather and the local beer.

The city is dominated by Phillips, hence the moniker City of Light, and their city centre factory is now home to a massive and very trendy bar/restaurant - Usine. We didn't eat but enjoyed a late afternoon drink on a sunny terrace.

Restaurants/bars are in three main areas. Bergen, where we had a nice pavement lunch at an Italian (Magiore?). DrommelStraat is by the railway station and had a vast selection of eating places. All were very busy and without a reservation we ended up in a cheap and cheerful Italian (Sicilia) and enjoyed a fantastic and very cheap prawn risotto. Third area is around Stratumstraat.

All menus were in dutch but virtually everyone speaks enough English for it not to matter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My partner & I stayed here whilst travelling across Europe by train during the 'Volcanic Ash' incident and it was a breath of fresh air in a potentially stressful few days. We made a last minute reservation (via booking.com) for a Junior Suite and paid 90 euros. We feel that this was a very good deal.

The room was lovely - temperature control, kingsize bed, flatscreen TV, Nespresso machine (and you could pick up extra pods in the lobby), fridge, room with large bath & toliet, separate room with shower & sink & free wi-fi.

The staff could not have been more helpful - we were given a late checkout (4pm) with no charge, restaurant recommendation for dinner (lovely!) & directed to the contemporary art museum (which was open on Sundays).

The hotel is located down a quiet side street in the central area - veyr close to all the shops & cafes, station, cinemas etc.

Our visit to Eindhoven was unexpected, but this little gem contributed to it being extremely enjoyable. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Quiet yet in the middle of the downtown mall. Smallish hotel, free laundry facilities, superb breakfast next door (fresh squeezed orange juice in March!). I dealt with at least 4 of the staff, they were all superb.
Room fine for one, but small: would not have been acceptable if my wife had been along.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boutique Hotel Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Lumiere

Address: Hooghuisstraat 31 A, 5611 GS Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Lumiere 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Lumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Lumiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.